home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Softball – Hayden Named to Inaugural NFCA Freshman of the Year Top-25

LAFAYETTE, La. – Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns softball freshman standout Haley Hayden has been named one of the top 25 finalists for the inaugural NFCA Division I Freshman of the Year Award, as announced by the NFCA office onThursday.

The award will be presented prior to the start of the 2014 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla., in a live ceremony on May 27.

Hayden, a native of West Monroe, his tied for the the Sun Belt lead with 13 home runs on the season, batting .338, while driving in 44 runs.  Her 13 homers matches 13 from teammate Lexie Elkins.

Hayden is the lone member of the Sun Belt named to the list that consists of 25 players from 25 different teams across 11 conferences. 

The list will be trimmed down to the top 10 finalists on May 8th, with the top three finalists being released on Thursday, May 22.

Ali Aguilar – SS/2B – Washington
Annie Aldrete – DP/C – Tennessee
Maryssa Becker – P/1B – Louisville
Megan Betsa – P – Michigan
Nickie Blue – P – South Carolina
Jessica Burroughs – P – Florida State
Kristen Clark – OF – UCSB
Kasey Cooper – 3B – Auburn
Baylee Corbello – P/UTL – LSU
Tiarra Davis – P/UTL – Texas
Tori Finucane – P – Missouri
Hannah Flippen – 2B – Utah
Taylor Glover – CF/1B – Cal State Northridge
Chelsea Gonzales – 2B/DP – Arizona State
Sara Groenewegen – P/IF – Minnesota
Haley Hayden – OF – Louisiana
Sierra Hyland – P/DP – Cal Poly
Milly Martinet – RF – Campbell
Katiyana Mauga – RF – Arizona
Jill Roye – 1B/DP – Tulsa
Caroline Seitz – 3B – Mississippi State
Lexi Shubert – P – USC Upstate
Kylie Sorenson – SS/3B/P – Stanford
Delaney Spaulding – SS – UCLA
Karley Wester – OF – Notre Dame