home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Soccer: Ragin’ Cajuns Place Three On All-Louisiana Women’s Soccer Team

Mayfield named Newcomer of the Year; Augustyn, Einarsdottir named honorable mention

Story Links

 Louisiana Soccer on  Monday, August 3, 2020 in Lafayette, La..

Lizzie Mayfield

RUSTON – Paced by first-team selection and Newcomer of the Year Lizzie Mayfield, the Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns Women’s Soccer team placed three players on the 2020-21 All-Louisiana Team in an announcement on Thursday by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA).
Joining Mayfield on the 18-member team, which was compiled based on nominations and voting by the state’s soccer sports information directors, were Ragin’ Cajuns teammates and honorable mention selections Alex Augustyn and Una Einarsdottir.
Mayfield, a first-team All-Sun Belt Conference performer and the league’s Newcomer of the Year, finished as the Ragin’ Cajuns leader in points (18), goals (6), assists (6) and shots (50) in her inaugural season at Louisiana. The forward recorded three game-winning goals on the season and produced five multi-point matches with a goal and assist.
She finished tied for the Sun Belt Conference lead in assists and tied for third in goals scored and points. Mayfield collected game-winning goals in matches against Abilene Christian, ULM and Nicholls and posted a goal and assist in her first two matches of the season.
Einarsdottir, a two-year captain, posted career-highs in goals scored (4), assists (2) and points (10) in helping Louisiana to back-to-back winning seasons for the first time since 2013-14. She scored goals in matches against Texas State, Louisiana Tech, Central Arkansas and ULM and recorded her first three-point game of her collegiate career with a goal and assist in win at ULM.
Augustyn, a junior defender, was part of a defensive unit that helped produce the lowest goals against average (1.18) in school history. Augustyn recorded three assists on the season with a pair coming in a 2-0 win over her former school, Louisiana Tech. She added an assist in a 2-0 win at Central Arkansas and was part of a defensive back line that helped produce school-records for consecutive wins (6), consecutive shutouts (7) and minutes without allowing a goal (724).
Follow the Ragin’ Cajuns on Twitter (@RaginCajunsSOC), Instagram (@RaginCajuns_SOC) and Facebook (Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns Soccer) or check RaginCajuns.com for Louisiana soccer updates.
Player of the Year – Tinaya Alexander, LSU
Newcomer of the Year – Lizzie Mayfield, Louisiana
Freshman of the Year – Taylor Dobles, LSU
Coach of the Year – Chris McBride, Southeastern Louisiana  
Women’s Soccer All-Louisiana Team
Tinaya Alexander, LSU
Taylor Dobles, LSU
Elizabeth Doll, Louisiana Tech
Hallie Field, Northwestern State
Dalton Fish, Southeastern Louisiana
Megan Gordon, Southeastern Louisiana
Mya Guillory, Southeastern Louisiana
Nicole Henry, Northwestern State
Lizzie Mayfield, Louisiana
Kailey Pena, Grambling State
Acey Aydogmus, Northwestern State 
Honorable Mention
Alex Augustyn, Louisiana
Una Einarsdottir, Louisiana

Natalee Henry, Northwestern State
Makenzie Maher, Southeastern Louisiana
Nadine Maher, Southeastern Louisiana
Janet Stopka, ULM
Molly Thompson, LSU