home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Ragin’ Cajuns Men’s Basketball Announces 2020-21 Award Winners

Russell earns Team MVP, Offensive Player of the Year honors

Story Links

LAFAYETTE – Senior Cedric Russell picked up a pair of awards as the Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns Men’s Basketball team recognized its 2020-21 award winners on Monday.
Dou GueyeTheo AkwubaBrayan Au and Durey Cadwell each were honored with awards in a presentation held at the Cajundome’s Table Room.
Russell, a first-team All-Sun Belt Conference and NABC All-District selection, was the recipient of both the Ragin’ Cajuns Most Valuable Player Award and Offensive Player of the Year. Gueye was selected as the recipient of the Ragin’ Cajuns Defensive Player of the Year Award with Akwuba earning the team’s Rebounder of the Year Award.
Au, a first-year player, was the recipient of the Beryl Shipley Leadership Award while Cadwell earned the Academic Achievement Award.
Men’s Basketball Athletic Trainer B.J. Duplantis and Ragin’ Cajuns Director of Digital Engagement and Innovation Heather Williams were named the recipients of the Honorary Captain Award, which was presented by head coach Bob Marlin
Follow the Ragin’ Cajuns on Twitter (@RaginCajunsMBB), Facebook (RaginCajunsMBB) or Instagram (@RaginCajunsMBB) to stay up-to-date on all that is happening with Louisiana Men’s Basketball.
Academic Achievement Award (Presented and Sponsored by David and Bobbie Fontenot) – Durey Cadwell
Beryl Shipley Leadership Award (Presented and Sponsored by Evelyn Syrie) – Brayan Au
Defensive Player of the Year Award (Presented By Matt Savoy; Sponsored in Memory of Ron Savoy) – Dou Gueye
Offensive Player of the Year Award (Presented and Sponsored by Ronnie Miller) – Cedric Russell
Rebounder of the Year Award (Presented and Sponsored by Karren and Tommy Hays) – Theo Akwuba
MVP Award (Presented by Jill Ardoin and Dr. Joseph Savoie, University President; Sponsored by Dave and Jill Ardoin) – Cedric Russell
Honorary Captain Award (Presented by: Coach Bob Marlin) – B.J. DuplantisHeather Williams