home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Louisiana Volleyball Collects AVCA Team Academic Award

Volleyball recognized for maintaining 3.3.-plus GPA in the 2019-20 academic year

LAFAYETTE – The Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns Volleyball team has been announced as a recipient of the 2019-20 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Team Academic Award, an honor the organization bestows annually to programs achieving a yearlong grade point average of 3.3 or higher.
As a team, the Ragin’ Cajuns registered a 3.494 cumulative GPA during the 2019-20 academic year. The success in the classroom was punctuated by the highest recorded team semester GPA in program history, a 3.642 mark in Spring 2020.
A total of 10 team members posted a GPA of 3.5 or higher during the year, with four of those individuals recording a perfect 4.0 GPA.
The AVCA Team Academic Award was established in the 1992-93 academic year and honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom. Teams must maintain at least a 3.30 cumulative grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative GPA on a 5.0 scale.
It’s the third time in head coach Heather Mazeitis-Fontenot‘s tenure – and the first occurrence since the 2013-14 academic year – that Louisiana Volleyball receives the distinction.
The AVCA Team Academic Award further enhances a significant year of academic achievement for Louisiana Volleyball. In May, the program earned an NCAA APR Public Recognition Award and it was also revealed that the program has scored a perfect 1,000 multi-year APR mark based upon four-year calculations of data from 2015-16 through 2018-19.
On the court, Louisiana finished as the Sun Belt West Division runner-up last season after ending the regular season as the league’s hottest team winning nine of its final 10 matches to finish with a 10-6 league mark. The Ragin’ Cajuns completed a program-record stretch of conference victories recorded over a three-year span, totaling 30 Sun Belt Conference triumphs since 2017.