home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Football: Levi Lewis Named to Davey O’™Brien Quarterback Class of 2020

Senior is one of 35 quarterbacks named to the class

LAFAYETTE – Senior Levi Lewis was one of 35 quarterbacks in the nation named to the Davey O’Brien Quarterback Class of 2020, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced on Tuesday afternoon.
Lewis joins Grayson McCall of Coastal Carolina and Zac Thomas of Appalachian State as the Sun Belt Conference’s representatives on the list, which is made up of players from all 10 FBS conferences as well as football independents.
During the 2020 season, Lewis has thrown for 2,027 yards, good for 20th nationally, and 16 touchdowns, good for 22nd nationally, while carrying the ball 37 times for 233 yards and five touchdowns.
The Baton Rouge native has thrown for over 250 yards in four games this season and has thrown at least two touchdown passes in five games, including three-touchdown performances in his last two outings.
Currently, Lewis is joined by Malik Cunningham (Louisville), Zach Wilson (BYU), Malik Willis (Liberty) and Sam Ehlinger (Texas), all members of the QB Class of 2020, as the only five quarterbacks in FBS who have thrown for 2000� yards, have over 15 passing touchdowns and more than five rushing touchdowns this season.
Lewis currently ranks second in program history in career passing touchdowns (51) and fourth in career passing yards (6,039), joining Louisiana legend Jake Delhomme as the only two Ragin’ Cajuns quarterbacks who have thrown for more than 6,000 yards and 50 touchdowns.
The next step in the process will be to select the award’s 16 semifinalists from these 35 quarterbacks. On Monday, Dec. 7, the semifinalists will be named based on voting from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee as well as the first round of the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, which will run through Sunday, Dec. 6.
The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.
In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.
No. 20 Louisiana returns to action on Friday, Dec. 4, when it travels to Boone, N.C., to take on Appalachian State in a rematch of the last two Sun Belt Conference Championship Games. Kickoff is slated for 7:30 p.m. CST and will be broadcast on ESPN.
Follow the Ragin’ Cajuns on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram (@RaginCajunsFB) to stay up-to-date on Louisiana Football.
Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2020 
Connor Bazelak, Missouri, Fr., 6-3, 215, Dayton, Ohio
Ian Book, Notre Dame, Sr., 6-0, 206, El Dorado Hills, Calif.
Shane Buechele, SMU, Sr., 6-1, 207, Arlington, Texas
Matt Corral, Ole Miss, So., 6-1, 205, Ventura, Calif.
Dustin Crum, Kent State, Sr., 6-3, 207, Grafton, Ohio
Malik Cunningham, Louisville, Jr., 6-1, 200, Montgomery, Ala.
Sam Ehlinger, Texas, Sr., 6-3, 225, Austin, Texas
Kaleb Eleby, Western Michigan, So., 6-1, 215, Maryland Heights, Mo.
Justin Fields, Ohio State, Jr., 6-3, 228, Kennesaw, Ga.
Dillon Gabriel, UCF, So., 6-0, 186, Mililani, Hawaii
Frank Harris, UTSA, Jr., 6-0, 200, Schertz, Texas
Sam Howell, North Carolina, So., 6-1, 225, Indian Trail, N.C.
Mac Jones, Alabama, Jr., 6-3, 214, Jacksonville, Fla.
Phil Jurkovec, Boston College, So., 6-5, 226, Pittsburgh, Pa.
D’Eriq King, Miami, Sr., 5-11, 202, Manvel, Texas
Trevor Lawrence, Clemson, Jr., 6-6, 220, Cartersville, Ga.
Levi Lewis, Louisiana, Sr., 5-10, 184, Baton Rouge, La.
Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, Fr., 6-3, 200, Indian Trail, N.C.
Kellen Mond, Texas A&M, Sr., 6-3, 217, San Antonio, Texas
Michael Penix Jr., Indiana, So., 6-3, 218, Tampa, Fla.
Kenny Pickett, Pittsburgh, Sr., 6-2, 220, Oakhurst, N.J.
Brock Purdy, Iowa State, Jr., 6-1, 212, Gilbert, Ariz.
Spencer Rattler, Oklahoma, Fr., 6-1, 205, Phoenix, Ariz.
Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati, Jr., 6-4, 215, Louisville, Ky.
Tyler Shough, Oregon, So., 6-5, 221, Chandler, Ariz.
Kedon Slovis, USC, So., 6-2, 200, Scottsdale, Ariz.
Zach Smith, Tulsa, Sr., 6-3, 227, Grandview, Texas
Nick Starkel, San Jose State, Sr., 6-3, 214, Argyle, Texas
Carson Strong, Nevada, So., 6-4, 215, Vacaville, Calif.
Zac Thomas, Appalachian State, Sr., 6-1, 210, Trussville, Ala.
Kyle Trask, Florida, Sr., 6-5, 240, Manvel, Texas
Grant Wells, Marshall, Fr., 6-2, 210, Charleston, W.Va.
Brady White, Memphis, Sr., 6-3, 210, Santa Clarita, Calif.
Malik Willis, Liberty, Jr., 6-1, 215, Atlanta, Ga.
Zach Wilson, BYU, Jr., 6-3, 210, Draper, Utah