home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Women’s Tennis: Kelly Drew Tabbed Second-Team All-Louisiana

David Collins, Athletics Communications Assistant

RUSTON, La. – Following a great senior season Louisiana Women’s Tennis senior Kelly Drew was named Second-Team All-Louisiana as a part of the 2018 Louisiana Sports Writers Association, as voted on by the Sports Information Directors and beat writers across the state of Louisiana.

DREW ADDS TO THE MANTLE: Drew’s nomination to the All-Louisiana Second-Team adds to her list of postseason awards.  Drew’s first postseason award came when she became only the second Cajuns woman to gain All-Sun Belt Conference honors in singles since the turn of the century, when she was named to the 2018 All-SBC First-Team, as the only two Cajuns women to get postseason honors in the past 24 years.

CAPPING A GREAT SENIOR YEAR: Drew went 9-7 in the spring and 5-4 in the fall to finish with a 14-11 record overall.  Playing primarily at No. 1 she had a collection of solid wins throughout the season but the one that stands out was when she took down the No. 90th ranked player in the nation.
On Mar. 1, at Cajun Courts, Drew faced off with South Alabama’s Alexandria Stiteler at the No. 1 spot.  Drew battled throughout, and she had to dig in deep in the first set, but she was determined, coming away with a first set tiebreaking win, 7-6(6) and she rode that momentum through to the second set to come away with a straight set win, 7-6(6), 6-4.
What made that win impressive was that it was the first loss of the season for Stiteler.  Stiteler would go on to lose only one more match in the season, finishing with a 15-2 record and a national ranking of 111.  For Drew it was a career highlighting win, since it was the first and so far, only win she’s had against a ranked opponent. 

2018 LSWA All-Louisiana Women’s Tennis Team

First Team
Eden Richardson, LSU
Stefana Andre, ULM
Jessica Golovin, LSU
Sarah Jurakova, McNeese State
Polina Mutel, Northwestern State
Mariia Borodii, Xavier (La.)
Second Team
Phonexay Chitdara, McNeese State
Kelly Drew, Louisiana
Giovana Fioretti, McNeese State
Ryann Foster, LSU
Charlene Goreau, Xavier (La.)
Polina Ivanova, Northwestern State
Arianna Pepper, Loyola
Honorable Mention
Stephanie Barnett, Nicholls State
Karolina Snita, ULM
Alba Perny, LSU-Alexandria
Sonia Chen, Louisiana Tech
Player Of The Year
Eden Richardson, LSU
Newcomer Of The Year
Ela Iwaniuk, Northwestern State
Freshman Of The Year
Eden Richardson, LSU
Coach Of The Year
Helena Besovic, McNeese State
FOLLOWING THE RAGIN’ CAJUNS: Follow the Ragin’ Cajuns on Twitter (@RaginCajunsWT), to stay up to date on everything Louisiana Women’s Tennis.