home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Track & Field: Ragin’ Cajuns Claim Three Individual Titles, Women 3rd, Men 4th at SBC Outdoors

SAN MARCOS, Texas – Albert Fournette set a school- and Sun Belt Conference record in claiming the men’s shot put title while Lindsey Harmon and Tia Mitchell each earned conference titles in their respective events to lead the Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns at the Sun Belt Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Saturday at Bobcat Track Stadium.

The three individual championships claimed by the Cajuns, plus several key performances helped Louisiana make a push into the upper half of the standings heading into the finals on Sunday. On the women’s side, the Ragin’ Cajuns moved into third place in the 10-team field with 46 points while the men moved into fourth place with 33.

Sunday’s championship round begins at 10 a.m. with the men’s discus followed by a trio of events in the men’s pole vault, women’s triple jump and women’s discus. The running event finals begin at 5 p.m. with the 4×400-meter relays set to conclude the meet beginning at 8:35 p.m.

Fournette, who moved into second place on the East Qualifying List, saved his best throw at the Sun Belt Conference Championships for last as he posted a mark of 65 feet, 11 inches to capture the individual title by over five feet over second-place finisher Darian Brown of Texas State.

Mitchell claimed the women’s long jump after leaping a personal-best 20-7 to edge Arkansas State’s Sharika Nelvis by a centimeter. Harmon claimed the women’s high jump title with a season-best mark of 5-9.25.

Kaitlyn Moreau (5,079 points) and Alex Harrell (4,552) finished fourth and seventh, respectively, in the women’s heptathlon while Wes Gonzales (6,996) and Harald Bust (6,930) were third and fourth in the decathlon. Devin Davis earned all-conference honors after finishing third overall in the men’s long jump (25-3.50).

Several Ragin’ Cajuns qualified for their respective finals including Joya Tardieff (women’s 400-meter hurdles), Danielle Castaldi (women’s 800-meter run), Matt Rice (men’s 800-meter run) and Morgan Cormier (men’s 110-meter hurdles, 400-meter hurdles).