home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Sun Belt Track: Lancon honored as all-time coach

Sun Belt Track: Lancon honored as all-time coach

Sun Belt Track: Lancon honored as all-time coach

Dan McDonald

It’s only fitting that the final 30-year anniversary team announced by the Sun Belt Conference would honor one of its all-time winningest coaches.
Long-time University of Louisiana coach Charles Lancon was an easy selection as the league’s all-time men’s coach on the All-Time Outdoor Track and Field Team selected by a panel of media members covering the league.

Lancon, who passed away in 2002, was joined on the squad by six Ragin’ Cajun men’s selections and four women’s selections. The team was the last of a series of all-time squads announced by the Sun Belt as part of its 30th anniversary.

UL’s men’s selections included triple jumpers Ndabe Mdhlongwa and Lawrence Willis, hurdler Larry Moore, sprinter-hurdler Grady Labbe, quarter-miler Henry Brooks and all-around performer Windell Dobson. The women’s selections included sprinters Twilet Malcolm, Keisha Ray Owens and Beverly Langley and discus thrower Jo Jo Harris.
Lancon coached from 1989 until his passing and was named the league men’s Coach of the Year 11 times. His squads won a total of 11 Sun Belt men’s titles including the outdoor title for eight consecutive years from 1991-98.

In 1993, Lancon’s squads grabbed the unprecedented "quadruple crown," capturing both the men’s and women’s indoor and outdoor titles.

Mdhlongwa, a four-time All-American and NCAA 1985 national champion, won four Sun Belt triple jump titles during his career. Willis was close behind with three league triple jump championships and earned three All-America honors including outdoor honors in 2003 and 2004.

Labbe was the Outstanding Performer in the 1994 Sun Belt meet and won outdoor titles in four different events in his career, three of them in 1994. Moore, an outdoor All-American in 1992, won three events in the 1992 outdoor meet in also winning Outstanding Performer honors.

Brooks won back-to-back Sun Belt 400-meter titles and joined Dobson on an All-American 4×400 relay team in 1992. Dobson won two individual titles and one relay title in his Sun Belt career.

Malcolm began a string of standout sprint performances for the Cajun women, earning 1993 Outstanding Performer honors and winning three individual and two relay events that year. Owens followed up by winning nine total Sun Belt titles, the most in school history, with four individual and five relay crowns.

Langley was a three-time Sun Belt champion in the 200-meter and won seven league titles during her career, while Harris won the 1993 Sun Belt discus title and earned All-America honors the following year.

The team included only athletes who competed since the Sun Belt added outdoor track as a conference sport for the 1992 season.


Men’s Team

All-Time Coach – Charles Lancon, Louisiana (1989-2002)

All-Time MVP – Mardy Scales, MTSU (2000-04)

All-Time Team Members

Chris Johnson, UALR (2001-02, 04-05); Leo Settle, UALR (1997-98); Daniel Ryland, ASU (1998-02); Candon Powell, ASU (2000-05); Anthony Hampton, ASU (1990-93); Kevin Bateman, FIU (1997-2000); Yandiel Muniz, FIU (2003-05); Kevon Pierre, FIU (2003-05); Lawrence Willis, UL (2002-04);

Ndabe Mdhlongwa, UL (1993-96); Grady Labbe, UL (1991-92, 1994); Henry Brooks, UL (1991-92); Larry Moore, UL (1991-92); Windell Dobson, UL (1991-92);

Mardy Scales, MTSU (2001-04); Godfrey Herring, MTSU (1999-2002); Victor Okorie, MTSU (2003-04); Mike Hancock, UNO (1996-98); Omar Smith, UNO (2001-04); Detrion Woodson, UNT (1998-2001); Jeff Campbell, USA (1992-94); Eli Kerren, USA (1994-97); David Kamani, USA (1999-2000); Tonny Okello, USA (1996-99); Nick Aliwell, WKU (1994-97); Jonathan Brown, WKU (2002-04); Sean Dollman, WKU (1989-92); Enda Grandfield, WKU (2001-04); Aaron Mullins, WKU (1998-99); Raigo Toompuu, WKU (2002-05).

Women’s Team

All-Time Coach – Rick Watkins, UNT (1997-present)

All-Time MVP – Sheri-Ann Brooks, FIU (2003-05)

All-Time Team Members

Ida Nilsson, UALR (2001); Dawn Williams-Sewer, UALR (1995-97); Sheri-Ann Brooks, FIU (2003-05); Anita Edwards, FIU (1999-2003); Linda Louissaint, FIU (2001-05); Tunesia Ashford, Lamar (1991-94); Yamelis Ortiz, Lamar (1995-2000);

Twilet Malcolm, UL (1991, 93); JoJo Harris, UL (1992-94, 96); Keisha Owens, UL (1992-94, 96); Beverly Langley, UL (1996-99);

Kim Freeman, MTSU (2000-03); Rosemary Okafor, MTSU (2002-04); Rachel Cuellar, NMSU (2002-05); Erin Streater, NMSU (2002-05); Sandra Anane, NMSU (2002-05); Santilla Victorian, UNO (1995-97); Marian Petta, UNO (2000-03); Laura Martin, USA (1996-2000); Coleen Kenney, USA (1992-94); Shemeeka Hopkins, USA (1998-2002); Bibiche Mankatu, USA (2001-04); Olga Mencnarowska, USA (1996-99); Ajoke Odumosu, USA (2003-05); Selina Campbell-Blick, WKU (1995-98); Olga Cronin, WKU (2000-03); Breeda Dennehy, WKU (1990-91, 93); Valarie Lynch, WKU (1997-2000); Michelle Murphy, WKU (1990-93); Cara Nichols, WKU (2002-05).

Originally published March 31, 2006