home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Softball: Tankersley Named to ASA Top-50 Watch List

Holly Tankersley was named to the ASA's Top-50 Watch List. 

Holly Tankersley was named to the ASA’s Top-50 Watch List. 

The ASA has selected its initial "Watch List" for the 7th Annual USA Softball
National Collegiate Player of the Year Award. Among those listed was
Louisiana designated player Holly Tankersley. 

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla.-The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing
Body of Softball in the United States, has selected its initial "Watch List"
for the 7th Annual USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award.
Among those listed was Louisiana designated player Holly Tankersley. 

Tankersley is a two-time NFCA All-South Region selection, as well as, a two-
time All-Sun Belt Conference pick.  She was 2004 Sun Belt Conference Freshman
of the Year and the 2004 Louisiana Freshman of Year.  Tankersley was a 2007
Top 25 finalist for National Softball Player of the Year.  Last season, she
led UL in most offensive categories: batting average (.403), runs scored
(60), total bases (140), slugging percentage (.733), hits (77), on base
percentage (.519), RBI (61), home runs (18), hit by pitch (12) and total
plate appearances (243).  Tankersley had 25 multi-hit games and had a streak
of six straight games with more than one hit.  She boasted 15 multi-RBI games
driving in five runs against ULM with four RBI in four different games. 
Tankersley had two home runs in four games, including a win over Penn State
in the Judi Garman Classic and pair of homers in a Sun Belt win over Troy
with three RBI.  She also contributed in the pitching circle for the Cajuns
in 2007, compiling a 12-5 overall record in 19 appearances with 93 strikeouts
in 93.1 innings of work.

This award, which is considered one of the most prestigious honors in women’s
collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic
achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past
winners of this award include UCLA’s Stacey Nuveman, Florida State’s Jessica
Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman and 2007 winner
Monica Abbott of Tennessee.

The 2008 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players representing 34
schools and 14 different NCAA Division I Conferences.

The ASA will announce the 25 finalists on April 9. Tankersley finished the
season on the Top-25 list at the end of the 2007 season. 

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will
be named and released on May 7. The final three finalists will be announced
May 21 while the winner of the 2008 USA Softball National Collegiate Player
of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the 2008 NCAA
Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.

2008 USA Softball Player of the Year Watch List
Name (School)
Callista Balko (Arizona)
Brandice Balschmiter (Massachusetts)
Chelsea Bramlett (Mississippi State)
Savannah Brown (Georgia Tech)
Katie Burkhart (Arizona State)
Tonya Callahan (Tennessee)
Ashley Charters (Washington)
Kaitlin Cochran (Arizona State)
Krista Colburn (UCLA)
Meagan Denny (Texas)
Lauren Eckermann (Oklahoma)
Cristi Ecks (South Florida)
Angela Findlay (Michigan)
Samantha Findlay (Michigan)
Rachel Folden (Marshall)
Megan Gibson (Texas A&M)
Alissa Haber (Stanford)
Whitney Haller (Georgia Tech)
Molly Hill (Nebraska)
Dani Hofer (LSU)
Becca Heteniak (DePaul)
Tiffany Huff (Tennessee)
Carley Hughes (UNC Wilmington)
Annie Kinsey (Pennsylvania)
Sam Marder (Ohio State)
Cambria Miranda (Oregon State)
Taryne Mowatt (Arizona)
Kara Nelson (Illinois State)
Stacey Nelson (Florida)
Emily Nichols (Iowa)
Chrissy Owens (Alabama)
Lauren Parker  (Alabama)
Nicole Pauly (Northwestern)
Missy Penna (Stanford)
Melissa Pura (Cal Poly)
Brette Reagan (Baylor)
Amanda Renth (Missouri)
Samantha Ricketts (Oklahoma)
Kate Robinson (Hawaii)
Killian Roessner (LSU)
Brittany Rogers (Alabama)
Amanda Scarborough (Texas A&M)
Anjelica Selden (UCLA)
Kirsten Shortridge (Baylor)
Holly Tankersley (Louisiana)
Angela Tincher (Virginia Tech)
Jessica Valis (Houston)
Sandy Vojik (DePaul)
Kim Waleszonia (Florida)
Tammy Williams (Northwestern)


Chris Whitehead
UL-Lafayette Sports Information
201 Reinhardt Drive
Lafayette, LA 70506
(337) 851-2255