home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Softball: Ragin’™ Cajuns Player Nerissa Myers Named to All-NPF Team


Contact: Blake Barington, Sports Information Assistant


(Soccer, Women s Basketball, Softball)


Office Phone: (337) 482-6329


Cell Phone: (325) 423-2512


E-mail: blake.barington@louisiana.edu


Twitter: @blakeb2012



                                                                           Former Ragin  Cajuns Softball Player Nerissa Myers Named to All-NPF Team



HOOVER, Ala.   National Pro Fastpitch (NPF) announced Tuesday night at their annual sports banquet that former Ragin’ Cajuns shortstop Nerissa Myers was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, presented by Louisville Slugger, and one of 19 players named to the All-NPF Team.
After signing with the Chicago Bandits in June 2013, Myers joined the Akron Racers this season, leading the league in RBI (43), two-out RBI (19), slugging percentage (.599), and in the top four in batting average (.365). On the season, Myers totaled 50 hits, including nine home runs and five doubles, six stolen bases and posted an on base percentage of .474.
"We’re so proud of her," said head coach Michael Lotief. "It’s our responsibility as coaches to get these kids ready for their next challenges and endeavors in life. It makes you proud (to see players succeed), and everyone has the satisfaction that they have done their part."
Myers had a successful four-year career (2010-13) playing for the Ragin’ Cajuns, earning All-Sun Belt First Team honors in 2012 and 2013. A native of Lafayette, Myers was selected to the All-Lafayette Regional First Team and was named a College Sports Madness Third Team All-American in 2012. While at Louisiana, Myers set the all-time record with 243 runs scored over her career. In 2012, she led the nation with 83 runs, breaking the SBC record and her own from 2011.
"Nerissa is very competitive. She always enjoyed competing and being challenged," Lotief said. "She’s a hard worker, a good teammate and understands the game."


National Pro Fastpitch is headquarted in Nashville, Tennessee. The league, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport has operated since 1997 under the name of Women’s Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women’s Pro Softball League (WPSL). NPF is the Official Development Partner of Major League Baseball in the category of women’s fastpitch softball since 2002.



2014 All NPF Team
C   Kristen Butler   (CH)
1B   Brittany Cervantes   (CH)
2B   Lauren Lappin   (PA)
3B   Andrea Duran   (US)
SS   Tammy Williams   (CH)
OF   Caitlin Lowe   (US)
OF   Natasha Watley   (US)
OF   (Tie) Megan Wiggins   (CB)
OF   (Tie) Emily Allard   (CB)
P   Cat Osterman   (US)
P   Monica Abbott   (CH)
P   Rachele Fico   (AK)
P   Michelle Gascoigne   (CH)
At Large   Nerissa Myers (AK)
At Large   Madison Shipman (US)
At Large   Sara Pauly   (PA)
At Large   Kelley Montalvo   (AK)
At Large   Ashley Thomas   (AK)
At Large   Jill Barrett   (AK)


Jennie Finch Award   Kelley Montalvo (AK) Sponsored by NPF and presented by Crown Boulder


Diamond Spike Award (Most Stolen Bases)   Breja’e Washington (US) Presented by Ringor


Rookie of the Year   Madison Shipman (US) Presented by Miken


Offensive Player of the Year   Nerissa Myers (AK) Presented by Louisville Slugger


Defensive Player of the Year   Tammy Williams (CH) Presented by Wilson


Pitcher of the Year   Cat Osterman (US)
Presented by Diamond


Player of the Year   Andrea Duran (US)
Presented by Mizuno
Coaching Staff of the Year   Akron Racers Presented by Schutt
Regular Season Champions   USSSA Pride
Ringor Cup presented by NPF
                                                                                                          — RaginCajuns.com —