home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Softball: Lewallen Selected in Third Round of National Pro Fastpitch

Softball: Lewallen Selected in Third Round of National Pro Fastpitch

Softball: Lewallen Selected in Third Round of National Pro Fastpitch

National Pro Fastpitch Announces 2006 Senior Draft Selections

February 15, 2006 (Denver, Colo) — The Akron Racers, Arizona Heat, Chicago Bandits, Connecticut Brakettes, Philadelphia Force, New England Riptide and Texas Thunder will kick-off the 2006 National Pro Fastpitch season on Wednesday, May 31st.

In hopes of solidifying their rosters, the seven teams picked their 2006 Senior College Player Selections this evening. Due to NCAA regulations, an active college senior-athlete may not sign with her respective franchise until their 2006 college season is finished. For players selected in the Senior Draft, they will be permitted to pursue any available roster spot on their assigned team after completing their college season. Senior draft rights expire August 31, 2006.

Following is a list of college players in order of selection:

1st Round:
Connecticut, Cat Osterman, P, Univ. of Texas
Philadelphia, Stephanie VanBrakle, P, Univ. of Alabama
Connecticut, Andrea Duran, 3B, UCLA
New England, Kristin Vesley, OF, Univ. of Oklahoma
Arizona, Alicia Hollowell, P, Univ. of Arizona
Akron, Jennie Ritter, P, Univ. of Michigan
Texas, Emily Zaplatosch, C, UCLA
Akron, Caitlin Benyi, 2B, UCLA
Chicago traded with
New England, Kristi Durant, 3B/C, Univ. of Tennessee

2nd Round:
Philadelphia, Sarah Fekete, OF, Univ. of Tennessee
Connecticut, Adrienne Alo, IF/OF, Oregon State
New England trade from 1st round with
Chicago, Stacy May, 3B/SS, Univ. of Iowa
(Chicago also gets New England’s 4th round pick next year)
Philadelphia, Harmony Schwethelm, OF/IF, Baylor
Texas, Serena Settlemier, P, Kansas University
Akron, Sara Larquier, 3B, Univ. of Virginia
Chicago, Amanda Williams, OF, Marshall University (West Virginia)

3rd Round:
Philadelphia, Haley Woods, C/1B, Cal Berkeley
Connecticut, Aimee Miner, OF, Univ. of Washington
New England, Tiffany Stewart, OF, Univ. of S. Florida
Arizona, Desiree Serrano, P, Arizona State
Texas, Krystal Lewallen, P, Univ. of Louisiana (Lafayette)
Akron, Lindsay James, OF, Cal Berkeley
Chicago traded with
New England, Lisa Allen, C, Oregon State

4th Round:
Philadelphia, Courtnay Foster, P, Northwestern
Connecticut, Stephanie Hill, IF/OF, LSU
New England trade from 3rd round with
Chicago, Missy Beseres, P, Penn State
Arizona, Lauren Lappin, IF/C, Stanford
Texas, Tina Boutelle, OF, Univ. of Texas
Akron, Ashley Smith, C, Univ. of South Carolina
Chicago, Jessica Williams, SS, Marshall University (West Virginia)

Major League Baseball is the Official Development Partner of National Professional Fastpitch in the category of women’s professional fastpitch softball. The partnership, which began the fall of 2002, is part of The Commissioner’s Initiative on Women and Baseball, a league-wide effort to help Major League Baseball and the 30 Major League Clubs build stronger relationships with female audiences.

National Pro Fastpitch is headquartered in Denver, Colorado. The league, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport, has operated since 1997 under the names Women’s Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women’s Pro Softball League (WPSL).

# # #

Press Contact: Joey Arrietta – 330-376-8188