home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Soccer: Cajun Duo Named All-Louisiana First Team

Grace Howell-Harries & Kimberly Grasso selected to All-Louisiana First Team; Yazmin Montoya named All-Louisiana Honorable Mention

Grasso_Howell Harries 2014 All-South Region

HAMMOND, La. – Louisiana senior defender Grace Howell-Harries and sophomore midfielder Kimberly Grasso were named to the All-Louisiana First Team by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA), the organization announced Sunday. Also earning recognition for the Cajuns was sophomore forward Yazmin Montoya, who was named All-Louisiana Honorable Mention.
Howell-Harries and Grasso captured their third honor of the 2014 season after being selected to the All-Sun Belt Conference First and Second Teams, respectively, prior to the start of the SBC Championships last month. The duo also garnered National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) All-South Region Third Team honors two weeks ago.
The All-Louisiana accolade is the second of Howell-Harries’ career, collecting the honor last season, while Grasso received recognition from the LSWA for the first time.
In 2014, Howell-Harries led the Cajuns in minutes for the third-straight season, totaling 1,562 in 18 matches. She played the full 90 minutes 14 times, twice recording a season-high 110 minutes this season. A native of London, Ontario, Canada, Howell-Harries has served as a captain for Louisiana the past two seasons. In 2014, she recorded two assists, tallying one of those in Louisiana’s record-setting 10-1 win over Alcorn State on Sept. 21. In 2013, Howell-Harries was named SBC Defensive Player of the Year while also being selected first team all-conference. As a freshman in 2011, she earned All-SBC Second Team honors.
Grasso played in all 19 matches with 13 starts on the season in 2014, finishing fourth on the team in minutes played with 1,118 and first among Louisiana midfielders. A native of Houma, Louisiana, Grasso recorded five goals for 10 points, tying for third on the team in goals scored while ranking fourth in points.

Montoya tied for the team high with seven goals while ranking second on the squad with 16 points in 2014. A native of West Covina, California, Montoya already ranks near the top of the career record books. Through two seasons with the Cajuns, she has totaled 20 goals to tie for second in program history while ranking third with 47 career points. In 2013, Montoya set school single-season records with 31 points, 13 goals, 86 shots and 38 shots on goal to earn All-SBC First Team and All-Louisiana First Team honors.
Southeastern Louisiana led all schools with four selections on the first team while Louisiana was joined by Louisiana Tech with two selections apiece. Also placing a player on the first team was LSU, Nicholls State and McNeese State.
Louisiana Tech’s Kathryn Sloan was named the LSWA Women’s Soccer Collegiate Player of the Year while LSU’s Jorian Baucom captured Freshman of the Year honors. Louisiana Tech head coach Kevin Sherry was named the LSWA Coach of the Year.
Louisiana finished the season 9-8-2, tying for the second-most wins in program history. The Cajuns went 7-2-1 at home in 2014, finishing one win shy of tying the program wins record at the Cajuns Soccer Complex. On the season, Louisiana totaled 47 goals and 121 points, both program records, to rank as one of the top offenses in the country. Louisiana tied for 20th in the nation in total goals while ranking 39th in total points. The Cajuns were 15th in the country with 2.47 goals per game and 24th with 6.37 points per game.
First Team
Name – School – Pos. – Cl. — Hometown
Kathryn Sloan – Louisiana Tech – F – So. – Kansas City, Mo.
Jorian Baucom – LSU – F – Fr. – Scottsdale, Ariz.
Spencer Valdespino – Nicholls – F – Jr. – Spring Hill, Fla.
Bri Singh – Southeastern Louisiana – F – So. – Lancaster, Calif.
Chelsea Villaescusa – Southeastern Louisiana – D – Sr. – Cypress, Calif.
Grace Howell-Harries – Louisiana – D – Sr. – London, Ontario, Canada 
Kimberly Grasso – Louisiana – MF – So. – Houma, La.
Maggie Ramsey – Southeastern Louisiana – MF – Fr. – Mission Viejo, Calif.
Brittany Beddow – Louisiana Tech – MF – Jr. – Keller, Texas
Savannah LaRicci, McNeese State – F – So. – Sugar Land, Texas
Hope Sabadash – Southeastern Louisiana – GK – So. – Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Player of the Year: Kathryn Sloan, Louisiana Tech
Freshman of the Year: Jorian Baucom, LSU
Coach of the Year: Kevin Sherry, Louisiana Tech

Honorable Mention: Jen Babcock, SLU; Jordane Carvery, LSU; Karlea Fehr, ULM; Erin Christ, SLU; Erin Biggs, Louisiana College; Antonia Land, ULM; Haley Lyons, McNeese; Jess Coates, Nicholls; Jenna Pillon, ULM; Yazmin Montoya, Louisiana; Kylee Seto, Louisiana Tech

— RaginCajuns.com —