home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Soccer Announces Annual Team Awards

Soccer Announces Annual Team Awards
Soccer  02/13/2008   Courtesy RaginCajuns.com

LAFAYETTE-Louisiana’s Ragin’ Cajuns women’s soccer team held their annual awards banquet and announced their yearly award winners and team captains.  Five Cajuns players were honored with awards for their efforts during the 2007 season. 


The Cajuns honored a pair of players as Most Valuable Player.  Callie Oliver (Texas City, Texas) was named the team’s Offensive MVP, while Kristen Malen (Victorville, Calif.) was the Defensive MVP. 


Oliver played in 19 of the Cajuns’ 21 matches last season.  She scored five goals on the season to go along with a team-best five assists.  Oliver was second on the team with 15 points scored.


Malen played in 21 matches for the Cajuns at goal.  She recorded 92 saves on the year, which ranks fourth in a single season in UL history.  Malen earned nine victories on the year – the most by any Cajun goalie in school history. 


Kat Bergeron (Lafayette, La.) won the Cajun Pride Award.  She finished her UL career with her best season.  Bergeron tallied four points, scoring one goal and adding a pair of assists. 


Kerri Luyties (Spring, Texas) received the Ultimate Cajun Award.  The 2007 team captain started every match for the Cajuns on defense.  She helped the Ragin’ Cajuns to one of the best defensive performances in school history.  The UL defense allowed just 33 goals and recorded six shutouts on the year. 


Jenn Hungate (Katy, Texas) earned the Most Improved Award.  She played in all 21 matches during the season with eight starts, including starts in the final five matches of the season.  Despite playing defense the whole season, Hungate made her only goal of the season count as she had the match-winning goal on the road in the Cajuns’ 3-2 victory over South Alabama. 


The Ragin’ Cajuns soccer team also announced the 2008 team captains during the banquet.  Taunya Geelhoed (Mission, British Columbia, Canada) and Oliver were named captains for the upcoming season.