home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Men’s Tennis: Three Named To All-Louisiana Team

David Collins, Athletics Communications Assistant

RUSTON, La. – Paced by sophomore Elio Lago’s First-Team honors, Louisiana Men’s Tennis had a total of three members named to the 2018 Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana Team, with sophomore Pearse Dolan and freshman Pierce Gilheany both getting named to the Second-Team, joining Lago on the All-Louisiana Team as voted on by the Sports Information Directors and beat writers across the state of Louisiana.
DOUBLING UP: Lago, Dolan and Gilheany’s honors adds to the All-Sun Belt Conference honors they earned following the 2018 season.  Lago was named All-SBC Second-Team in singles and Dolan and Gilheany were tabbed Second-Team All-SBC as a doubles pair.
LAGO LIGHTS UP 2018: Lago, named First-Team All-Louisiana, was on a tear all season long, ripping off a team high 13-match winning streak and he finished the season winning 14 out of 15 matches.  During the spring Lago went 17-7, tied for the team high in wins, and when factoring in the fall he finished 24-9 overall. 
STARTED HOT AS A PAIR, FINISHED HOT AS A PAIR: The Cajuns pair of Dolan and Gilheany, both named Second-Team All-Louisiana, started the season off on fire, coming together for their first spring match as a pair on Jan. 14 against Mercer, the Cajuns duo went on to win their first five matches in doubles.
They then bounced back from their first loss, on Oct. 10 at Old Dominion, to tear off another five-match winning streak and the Louisiana duo finished the season winning five out of their last six matches.  They finished the spring season with a 10-2 record and when factoring in the fall season they went 11-4 overall.
2018 LSWA All-Louisiana Men’s Tennis Team
First Team
Luis Erlenbusch, Tulane
Elio Lago, Louisiana
Shane Monroe, LSU
Ewan Moore, Tulane
Tyler Schick, Tulane
Constantin Schmitz, Tulane
Second Team
Ernesto De Diego, Loyola
Pearse Dolan, Louisiana
Catalin Fifea, Xavier
Pierce Gilheany, Louisiana
Hamish Stewart, Tulane
Rafael Wagner, LSU
Player Of The Year
Constantin Schmitz, Tulane
Newcomer Of The Year
Shane Monroe, LSU
Freshman Of The Year
Hamish Stewart, Tulane
Coach Of The Year
Mark Booras, Tulane
FOLLOWING THE RAGIN’ CAJUNS: Follow the Ragin’ Cajuns on Twitter (@RaginCajunsMT), to stay up to date on everything Louisiana Men’s Tennis.