home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Men’s Tennis: Dolan And Gilheany Named Second-Team All-SBC In Doubles

 David Collins, Athletics Communications Assistant

The honor makes it six straight seasons there’s been a Ragin’ Cajuns duo named to the All-SBC Team in doubles.

NEW ORLEANS – Sophomore Pearse Dolan and freshman Pierce Gilheany were named to the All-Sun Belt Conference Second-Team in doubles, making it six straight seasons there’s been a Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns men’s tennis team pair named All-SBC in doubles, as the SBC announced their postseason awards today.

STARTED HOT, FINISHED HOT: The Cajuns pair of Dolan and Gilheany started the season off on fire, coming together for their first spring match as a pair on Jan. 14 against Mercer, the Cajuns duo went on to win their first five matches in doubles.
They then bounced back from their first loss, on Oct. 10 at Old Dominon, to tear off another five-match winning streak and the Louisiana duo finished the season winning five out of their last six matches.  They finished the spring season with a 10-2 record and when factoring in the fall season they went 11-4 overall.

SIX TIMES THE HONORS: The postseason honors makes it six straight seasons that’s there’s been a Cajuns pair named to the All-SBC doubles team.  Dolan and Gilheany join junior Arthur Libaud and sophomore Jamie Fraser (2017); Edgar Lopez/Eric Perez (2016); Coleman Wahlborg/Jarred Wynan (2015); Damian Farinola/Edgar Lopez (2015-14) and Rick De Groot/Jake Wynan (2014-13).

All-Sun Belt First Team
Scott Webster, Appalachian State (Sr., Perth, Australia)
Stefano Di Aloy, Georgia Southern (So., Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Andrei Andrukhou, Georgia State (Sr., Minsk, Belarus)
Loic Cloes, South Alabama (So., Oreye, Belgium)
Clement Marzol, South Alabama (So., Toulouse, France)
Guanarteme Nuez, UTA (Jr., Las Palmas, Spain)
Scott Webster (Sr., Perth, Australia) and Milo Bargeron (So., Chislehurst, England), Appalachian State
Loic Cloes (So., Oreye, Belgium) and Clement Marzol (So., Toulouse, France), South Alabama
Mauricio Del Rio (Jr., Irapuato, Mexico) and Guanarteme Nuez (Jr., Las Palmas, Spain), UTA
All-Sun Belt Second Team
Eddie Landin, Georgia Southern (Sr., Los Cabos, Mexico)
Sebastian Acuna, Georgia State (Sr., Miami, Fla.)
Giles Hussey, Georgia State (Jr., Swindon, England)
Elio Lago, Louisiana (So., Fortaleza, Brazil)
Mauricio del Rio, UTA (Jr., Irapuato, Mexico)
Enrique Pardo, UTA (Jr., Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain)
Eddie Landin (Sr., Los Cabos, Mexico) and Diego Finkelstein (So., Sao Paulo, Brazil), Georgia Southern
Sebastian Acuna (Sr., Miami, Fla.) and Andrei Duarte (Fr., Atlanta, Ga.), Georgia State
Pierce Gilheany (Fr., Melbourne, Australia) and Pearse Dolan (So., Sydney, Australia), Louisiana
Player of the Year
Guanarteme Nuez, UTA (Jr., Las Palmas, Spain)
Player to Watch
Loic Cloes, South Alabama (So., Oreye, Belgium)
Newcomer of the Year
Enrique Pardo, UTA (Jr., Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain)
Freshman of the Year
Pelayo Antuña, Troy (Fr., Gijon, Spain)
Co-Coaches of the Year
Sander Koning, Georgia Southern
Jonathan Wolff, Georgia State

All-Sun Belt (Singles):
Arthur Libaud (Second-Team; 2017)
Arthur Libaud (Second-Team; 2016)
Edgar Lopez (First-Team; 2016)
Jake Wynan (Second-Team; 2014)
Edgar Lopez (Second-Team; 2014)
Hunter Johnson (Second-Team; 2014)
Rick De Groot (First-Team; 2014)
Rick De Groot (2013)
Carlin Murray (2012)
Piotre Banas (2008)
Dusan Tabak (2008)
Evghenii Corduneanu (2006)
Dusan Tabak (2005)
Evghenii Corduneanu (2005)
Evghenii Corduneanu (2004)
Jakub Ilowski (2003)
Jakub Ilowski (2000)
Eduardo Gordilho (1999)
Rafael Fontes (1999)
Rafael Fontes (1998)
Ricardo Diniz (1998)
Rafael Fontes (1997)
Ricardo Diniz (1997)
Steven Parkes (1996)
Ricardo Diniz (1996)
Steven Parkes (1995)
Greg Wood (1994)
John Philips (1994)
Steven Parkes (1994)
Greg Wood (1993)
John Philips (1993)
John Philips (1992)
Patrick Minnis (1992)
Hall Bohlinger(1992)
All-Sun Belt (Doubles):
Pearse Dolan/Pierce Gilheany (Second-Team; 2018)
Arthur Libaud/Jamie Fraser (Second-Team; 2017)
Edgar Lopez/Eric Perez (First-Team; 2016)
Coleman Wahlborg/Jarred Wynan (First-Team; 2015)
Damian Farinola/Edgar Lopez (First-Team; 2015)
Rick De Groot/Jake Wynan (First-Team; 2014)
Damian Farinola/Edgar Lopez (Second-Team; 2014)
Rick De Groot/Jake Wynan (2013)
Eduardo Gordilho/Michal Jordan (2000)
Eduardo Gordilho/Michal Jordan (1999)
Rafael Fontes/Eduardo Gordilho (1998)
Steven Parkes/Greg Zgola (1996)
John Philips/Greg Zgola (1994)
John Philips/Greg Zgola (1993)
Patrick Minnis/Greg Wood (1992)

UP NEXT FOR THE CAJUNS: The second seeded Cajuns will open up the SBC Men’s Tennis Championships on Friday, Apr. 20 with a first round matchup against the seventh seeded Appalachian State Mountaineers with the match scheduled to start at 5:30 p.m. CT.

FOLLOWING THE RAGIN’ CAJUNS: Follow the Cajuns on twitter @RaginCajunsMT for updates during the championships and links to live stats, radio broadcasts, TV broadcasts and a recap following each day’s action.