home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Men’s Basketball: Washington, Long Earn All-Louisiana Honors

 MONROE, La. – The Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) announced its annual men’s basketball postseason awards this weekend with Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns junior Shawn Long earning first team honors and freshman Bryce Washington earning a nod as co-Freshman of the Year.
It is the third time in three seasons Long has earned recognition from the LSWA, earning freshman of the year honors following the 2012-13 season and first team honors a year ago.
Long was the only player in the Sun Belt Conference to rank in the top five in both scoring (16.4 ppg) and rebounding (10.4 rpg) on his way to earning all-Sun Belt Conference first team honors at the conclusion of the regular season. Long was joined on the first team by Desharick Guidry (McNeese State), Jarrell Martin (LSU), Jordan Mickey (LSU) and Jalan West (Northwestern State).
The junior from Morgan City, La., has also been named to the Lou Henson all-America team, while also earning LSWA player of the week once this season and SBC player of the week twice. He finished the season with 52 career double-doubles, the most of any active player in the nation.
Meanwhile, the award is the first postseason recognition of Washington’s career after a season that saw him move into the starting lineup and start 15 of the last 16 games of the year for the Cajuns. He averaged 6.4 points and 5.2 rebounds per game for the year, shooting .534 from the field. He will share the honor with LSU freshman Jaylyn Patterson.
A product of St. Augustine High School (New Orleans, La.), Washington exploded for a career-high 25 points in the opening round of the CIT at Incarnate Word and pulled in a career-high 12 rebounds in the regular season finale at Arkansas State.