home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Men’s Basketball: Millsap named to All-Louisiana team

UL forward gets Freshman of Year, too

Elijah Millsap made a big impression on the Sun Belt Conference men’s basketball scene last winter, claiming the league’s Freshman of the Year honors in his first season in a UL uniform.

Now, the Grambling High product has added another honor, being named the state’s Freshman of the year on the All-Louisiana Collegiate men’s basketball team announced today by the La. Sports Writers Association. Probably because Millsap led all freshmen scorers in the league at 12 points a game and was fifth overall in rebounding with 7.2 boards a contest.

He was also named to the All-Louisiana third team as the only Ragin’ Cajun named to a squad headed by New Orleans standout Bo McCalebb.

In fact, the Sun Belt took a sweep of the state’s top honors. In addition to McCalebb, UL Monroe’s Jonas Brown was named Newcomer of the Year and Warhawk coach Orlando Early was tabbed as Coach of the Year.

The team was selected by a statewide panel of media voters after nominations by the state’s sports information directors.

 Zoom Photo

Advertiser file photo/John Rowland

UL’s Elijah Millsap plays defense on Troy’s Richard Chaney during Sun Belt action in the Cajundome.

2007 All-Louisiana Team

First Team: Bo McCalebb, New Orleans; Glen Davis, LSU; Stefan Blaszczynski, Nicholls State; Tasmin Mitchell, LSU; Trey McDowell, Louisiana Tech

  • Second Team: Tony Hooper, UL Monroe; David Gomez, Tulane; Andre Ratliff, Grambling; Daryl Cohen, Southeastern Louisiana; Alexander Starr, Centenary
  • Third Team: Jarvis Bradley, McNeese State; Luke Rogers, Northwestern State; Josh Johnson, Louisiana College; Elijah Millsap, Louisiana; Mark Stewart, Xavier
  • Newcomer of the Year: Jonas Brown, ULM
    Player of the Year: Bo McCalebb, New Orleans
  • Coach of the Year: Orlando Early, UL Monroe