home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Golf: Sun Belt Conference Announces All-Time Golf Team

Golf: Sun Belt Conference Announces All-Time Golf Team

Golf: Sun Belt Conference Announces All-Time Golf Team

Head Coach Bob Bass and six UL players were named to the All-Time Golf Team
Thursday, April 6, 2006

Chris Whitehead, Sports Information –

NEW ORLEANS – Throughout the past 30 years, golf has been a fixture of the
Sun Belt Conference.

So as the league continues to celebrate its 30th anniversary, it should come
as no surprise that two professionals highlight the conference’s all-time
men’s and women’s golf team, which was announced on Thursday.

Former South Alabama All-America selection and current PGA TOUR standout
Heath Slocum was chosen as the league’s all-time men’s player, while former
New Mexico State All-America pick and current LPGA rookie Alena Sharp was
named the all-time women’s player.

Meanwhile, Louisiana-Lafayette head coach Bob Bass was selected as the all-
time men’s coach and Denver’s Sammie Chergo was tabbed as the women’s coach.

A total of 32 men’s players and 30 women’s players were selected to the team,
which was voted on by a 26-member media panel.

Slocum, a three-time All-America pick, was the 1996 Sun Belt individual
medalist and earned two NCAA Regional appearances. Since then, Slocum has
become a standout on the PGA TOUR, winning two events including last year’s
Southern Farm Bureau Classic.

Sharp was a three-time All-America honorable mention selection and helped the
Aggies to three straight Sun Belt championships from 2001-03. Sharp won
individual medalist honors in both ’01 and ’03 and was also a two-time
Academic All-America pick. She was also the league’s female student-athlete
of the year in 2003.

She is currently playing on the LPGA Tour.

Bass, meanwhile, earned the coaching honor after leading the Ragin’ Cajuns to
two Sun Belt titles, five runner-up finishes and eight NCAA Regional
appearances. He has helped produce 25 All-Sun Belt selections and has had at
least one all-league pick in 13 of his 14 seasons at UL Lafayette.

Chergo built the Denver Pioneer program from the ground up and has guided DU
to four straight trips to NCAA Regional play. Denver has also won two
consecutive Sun Belt titles.

Lynn Farquhar (1984-86, UAB)
Jay Horton (1988-91, UAB)
Daniel Fox (1999-2001, Arkansas-Little Rock)
Alex Maynard (1996-98, Arkansas-Little Rock)
Patrick Sullivan (2002-05, Arkansas-Little Rock)
David Faught (1993-97, Arkansas State)
Brian McCann (1993-97, Arkansas State)
Zoltan Veress (1996-99, Arkansas State)
Robert Damron (1991-92, Central Florida)
Erik Billinger (2000-02, Denver)

Richard Ainley (2000-01, Louisiana-Lafayette)
Trey Coker (1991-94, Louisiana-Lafayette)
Orn Hjartarson (1999-02, Louisiana-Lafayette)
Rob McKelvey (1990-93, Louisiana-Lafayette)
Greg Sonnier (1996-99, Louisiana-Lafayette)
Matt Trevino (1995-98, Louisiana-Lafayette)

Danny Bowen (2002-05, New Mexico State)
Casey Crain (1997-2001, New Orleans)
David Rasco (1973-77, New Orleans)
Zach Atkinson (2001-04, North Texas)
Brad Besler (2002-03, North Texas)
Jon Hurst (1988-91, Old Dominion)
Alan Schulte (1982-85, Old Dominion)
Freddie Cortina (1998-99, South Alabama)
Ryan Gildersleeve (2000-03, South Alabama)
T.J. Jackson (1987, South Alabama)
Greg Jones (1985-87, South Alabama)
Gareth Maybin (2001-04, South Alabama)
Heath Slocum (1993-96, South Alabama)
Nate Gilchrist (1997-2000, Western Kentucky)
Jeff Guest (1987-90, Western Kentucky)
Eric Mason (1999-02, Western Kentucky)

ALL-TIME MEN’S PLAYER: Heath Slocum, South Alabama
ALL-TIME MEN’S COACH: Bob Bass, Louisiana-Lafayette

Maria Jose Hurtado (1999-2003, Arkansas-Little Rock)
Sofia Josefsson (1996-99, 2000-01, Arkansas-Little Rock)
Leisha Smith (1995-98, Arkansas-Little Rock)
Gisselle Wusyk (1993-96, Arkansas-Little Rock)
Linda Svenson (2001-04, Arkansas-Little Rock)
Amanda Beeler (1998-2001, Arkansas State)
Rebecca Sarjeant (1996-99, Arkansas State)
Rachael Stewart (1994-97, Arkansas State)
Kristine Worden (1998-2001, Arkansas State)
Christine Anast (1999-2003, Denver)
Emily Hoeper (2003-current, Denver)
Kelly Schaub (1998-2003, Denver)
Courtney Burdick (2001-04, Florida International)
Michelle Simpson (1997-2001, Florida International)
Louisa Bergsma (1991-92, Lamar)
Andrea Dobson (1991-95, Lamar)
Tamara Munsch (2001-04, Middle Tennessee)
Rachel Bailey (2001-03, New Mexico State)
Alena Sharp (2001-03, New Mexico State)
Lehua Wise (2003-05, New Mexico State)
Crystal Elliers (1999-2003, New Orleans)
Carmen Goodrich (1994-97, New Orleans)
Randi Gauthier (2000-03, North Texas)
Kassie Goodfellow (1997-99, South Alabama)
Jennifer Krupa (1995-98, South Alabama)
Angie Stafford (1993-95, South Alabama)
Danielle Barker (1993-96, Western Kentucky)
Beth Blevins (1996-99, Western Kentucky)
Jamie Hagedorn (1997-2000, Western Kentucky)
Jennifer Moore (1991-94, Western Kentucky)

ALL-TIME WOMEN’S PLAYER: Alena Sharp, New Mexico State
ALL-TIME WOMEN’S COACH: Sammie Chergo, Denver