home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Football: Edmiston Named to Groza Watch List

Drew Edmiston was named to the Lou Groza Watch List for the second time in his career.
View larger Courtesy: RaginCajuns.com
Drew Edmiston was named to the Lou Groza Watch List for the second time in his career.

Article Contributed to by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla.-The Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced it’s
2008 preseason Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award watch list and
Louisiana’s Ragin’ Cajuns senior Drew Edmiston was among the 30 Division 1-A
kickers named to the list.

The accolade marks the second time in his career that Edmiston was named to
the Groza Watch List.  He was named to the list in 2007 after he earned First
Team All-Sun Belt Conference honors during the 2006 season.  Edmiston once
again earned All-Conference praise in 2007.  Edmiston did not miss any kicks
from 40 yards or less in 2007 and was one of only two kickers who were
perfect in Sun Belt play. 

Earlier this year, Edmiston was named to the 2008 Preseason All-Sun Belt
Conference team. 

Edmiston is the second kicker in the Rickey Bustle Era to be added to the
watch list and the first to be named to the list twice.  Former Ragin’ Cajuns
kicker Sean Comiskey (2002-05) was named to the Groza Watch List in 2005. 

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics
from the 2007 season and 2008 preseason expectations.  During the season the
Groza Awards Committee monitors the success of all kickers on a national
level.  Weekly, beginning Sept. 8, the award recognizes the three (3)
outstanding kickers of the week based on the previous week’s play.

Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza
Collegiate Place-Kicker Award announces its 20 semi-finalists on Tuesday,
Nov. 11.  From this list, a panel of over 300 experts selects the top three
(3) finalists for the award by Wednesday, Nov. 26.  That same group then
selects the national winner which will be aired on Thursday, Dec. 11 from
7:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. (ET) during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football
Awards Show broadcast live from Orlando, Fla. 

The 17th Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the
FedEx Orange Bowl, recognizes the three (3) finalists during an early week
celebration in Palm Beach County culminating with a gala awards banquet on
December 9 prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.

Last year’s Groza winner, Thomas Weber of Arizona State, and finalists, Jose
Martinez of UTEP and Austin Starr of Indiana, again are on the Preseason
Watch List of hopefuls competing for the coveted 2008 Lou Groza Collegiate
Place-Kicker Award.  

In addition to last year’s winner and finalists, five other semi-finalists
have again been named to this year’s opening list.  The 2007 semi-finalists
returning are:  Kyle Brotzman, Boise State; Daniel Lincoln, Tennessee; Ryan
Pretorius, Ohio State; Louie Sakoda, Utah and Sam Swank, Wake Forest.

Five (5) former winners or nominees: Mason Crosby, Martin Gramatica,
Sebastian Janikowski, Nate Kaeding and Mike Nugent became successful NFL

The award is named for NFL Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who
played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns.  Groza won four NFL
championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. 
Although an "All Pro" offensive lineman, Groza ushered in the notion that
there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

Preseason Watch List
Ryan Bailey, Texas
Ben Bell, Houston
Kyle Brotzman, Boise State
Mark Buchholz, Clemson
David Buehler, USC
Tony Ciaravino, UConn
Trevor Cook, Miami (Ohio)
Colt David, LSU
Drew Edmiston, Louisiana-Lafayette
Kai Forbath, UCLA
Dan Kelly, Hawai’i
Kevin Kelly, Penn State
Conor Lee, Pitt
Warley Leroy, FAU
Daniel Lincoln, Tennessee
K.C. Lopata, Michigan
Jose Martinez, UTEP
Ryan Pretorius, Ohio State
Matt Reagan, Memphis
Louie Sakoda, Utah
Patrick Shadle, Syracuse
Austin Starr, Indiana
Jarod Strubeck, San Jose State
Ryan Succop, South Carolina
Sam Swank, Wake Forest
Brett Swenson, Michigan State
Leigh Tiffin, Alabama
Jarod Tracy, Tulsa
Thomas Weber, Arizona State
Jeff Wolfert, Missouri


Chris Whitehead
UL-Lafayette Sports Information
201 Reinhardt Drive
Lafayette, LA 70506
(337) 851-2255