home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Football Banquet: Fenroy leads Cajun honorees

Football Banquet: Fenroy leads Cajun honorees

Football Banquet: Fenroy leads Cajun honorees

Bruce Brown

Tyrell Fenroy has just begun his journey as a running back for Louisiana’s Ragin’ Cajuns, but he’s already a star.
Fenroy was loaded with awards on his way out of the building on Saturday night as UL honored members of its 2005 Sun Belt Conference champions in its annual banquet.

The Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year was the first running back in school history to rush for over 1,000 yards, and received the Offensive MVP Award from former Cajun Fred Stamps along with the Robert Trahan Special Achievement Award and other honors.

Linebacker Tyler Norman was the Defensive MVP, while Jason Chery was presented with the Brian Mitchell Special Forces MVP honor.
Mitchell was unable to attend the banquet this year, but his former UL teammate Chris Gannon was on hand to help with numerous awards and Carolina Panthers quarterback Jake Delhomme spoke to the gathering on tape.

Delhomme praised offensive captain Dwight Linden for finishing his degree in 3 1/2 years after being a partial qualifier out of Comeaux High, and had special words for co-offensive captain Greg Hodges.

"Greg, I don’t know you," Delhomme said, "but since you’re an offensive lineman and only gave up one sack all year you’ve got to be my best friend."

Gannon honored defensive co-captains Norman and Eugene Kwarteng, defensive MVP Norman, and also presented the Gridiron Alumni "Blue Collar" Award to fullback Booker Jenkins and defensive tackle Marshal Delesdernier.

The Special Forces Captain’s Award went to deep snapper Justin Venable.

"I want to tell you players that there are a lot of people impressed with what you accomplished this year," Gannon said. "To win five games in a row at the end of the season is tremendous.

"You should cherish every single day you have at the University, cherish every single second you have with your teammates. Don’t waste a minute. Don’t waste a day."

"This team always believed, even when we were 1-5," coach Rickey Bustle said. "They refused to quit. I said before the season that character was this team’s biggest strength, and in the end it was. There were some tough days before those five wins.

"A lot of things happened early in the year to a lot of people," Bustle said, alluding to Hurricanes Katrina and Rita. "But when you put it in perspective, it (being 1-5) wasn’t that bad. I give credit to the coaches and players for not giving up on each other. It would have been easy to do.

"This team finally set the bar, and now we’re not going to take anything less. There will be no excuse for going backward."

Tyrell Fenroy wouldn’t have it any other way.


All-Sun Belt Conference

Freshman of the Year

RB Tyrell Fenroy


OL Greg Hodges, OL Brandon Cox

All-Purpose Michael Desormeaux

RB Tyrell Fenroy, OL Jesse Newman


DE Eugene Kwarteng

DE Anthony Hills, CB Michael Adams

Champion Award – Offense

QB Michael Desormeaux

Top Gun – Defense

LB Brent Burkhalter

Top Point Award – Defense

DE Eugene Kwarteng

Special Achievement Award

RB Tyrell Fenroy

Gridiron Alumni Award – Team

Offense, FB Booker Jenkins

Defense, DL Marshall Delesdernier

Big Hit Award

Offense, Booker Jenkins vs. Middle Tennessee

Defense, Michael Adams vs. Florida Atlantic

Special Forces (Kuhuna), Eddie Brown vs. North Texas

Most Valuable Player

Offense, RB Tyrell Fenroy

Defense, LB Tyler Norman

Brian Mitchell Special Forces, WR Jason Chery

Captain’s Award

Offense, RB Dwight Linden, OL Greg Hodges

Defense, DE Eugene Kwarteng, LB Tyler Norman

Special Forces, DS Justin Venable

Originally published January 22, 2006