home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Football: All-state football team has 5 Cajuns

Fenroy, Cox make first team; 3 on second

For the second straight season, UL’s rushing attack ranked in the national top 15 among NCAA Division I football teams.

Two of the biggest reasons for that are the Ragin’ Cajuns’ two first-team selections on the All-Louisiana Collegiate Football Team announced Friday.

Sophomore running back Tyrell Fenroy, last year’s state Freshman of the Year, and offensive tackle Brandon Cox, a first-team pick in 2005, were picked to the first team by a panel of state media members.

UL also had three players named to the second team, with defensive end Rodney Hardeway, defensive back Michael Adams and kicker Drew Edmiston on that unit.

The state squad was led by LSU’s Tigers and McNeese’s Cowboys, who had the two best seasons among state schools. The Tigers took the top two individual awards, with quarterback JaMarcus Russell a unanimous pick as Offensive Player of the Year and defensive back LaRon Landry the Defensive Player of the Year.

Former Erath standout Derrick Fourroux, who stepped into McNeese’s starting quarterback role in his first collegiate season, was named Freshman of the Year, and Cowboy coach Matt Viator won the Coach of the Year award. The other top award went to Southeastern Louisiana running back Jay Lucas, tabbed as Newcomer of the Year.

Fenroy posted his second straight 1,000-yard rushing season – the first player in UL history to accomplish that feat – and ranked 19th nationally with 1,193 rush yards along with a 5.4 average and 10 touchdowns.

Cox was a major factor in that success and finished his senior season with 12 more consecutive starts, giving him a school-record 46 straight starts out of 46 career games.

Russell had a stellar year for the Tigers, leading them to 10 wins and a BCS berth in the Jan. 3 Allstate Sugar Bowl against Notre Dame. The first-team All-SEC signal caller completed 211-of-308 passes for 2,797 yards and 26 touchdowns, the second highest TD total in school history. Russell was ranked No. 3 in the nation in passing efficiency (168.1 rating).

On the defensive side, Landry was a first team All-American and finished as one of the most decorated defenders in LSU history. He led the LSU defense with 68 tackles as the leader of a dense that allowed only 12 points and 238 yards per game.

Fourroux puts his Freshman of the Year award next to the SLC Freshman of the Year honor. The ex-Bobcat started all 12 games for the Cowboys, completing 118 of 217 passes for 1,490 yards and 10 TDs. He also rushed for 377 yards, scoring five touchdowns.

LSU had nine players on the first team, McNeese six, Louisiana Tech, Northwestern State and UL Monroe joining the Cajuns with two each and Nicholls State and Southern one each.

All-Louisiana Collegiate Football Team


All-Louisiana Collegiate Football Team as chosen by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association:

First-team offense

Pos. Name, School Height Weight Class

OL Jacob Bender, Nicholls St. 6-6 305 Sr.

OL Brandon Cox, UL 6-7 322 Sr.

OL Brian Johnson, LSU 6-4 307 Sr.

OL Ciron Black, LSU 6-5 314 Fr.

OL Brent Pousson, McNeese 6-5 297 Sr.

RB Tyrell Fenroy, UL 5-10 180 So.

RB Calvin Dawson, UL Monroe 5-10 207 Jr.

QB JaMarcus Russell, LSU 6-6 252 Jr.

WR Dwayne Bowe, LSU 6-3 217 Sro.

WR Early Doucet, LSU 6-0 206 Jr.

TE Anthony James, La. Tech 6-6 250 Sr.

First-team defense

DL Tory Collins, Northwestern 6-3 280 Sr.

DL Glenn Dorsey, LSU 6-2 299 Jr.

DL Tyson Jackson, LSU 6-5 292 So.

DL Bryan Smith, McNeese 6-3 217 Jr.

LB Quin Harris, La. Tech 6-3 221 So.

LB Ali Highsmith, LSU 6-1 226 Jr.

LB Allen Nelson, McNeese 6-1 205 So.

DB Jamelle Juneau, McNeese 6-2 202 Jr.

DB LaRon Landry, LSU 6-2 202 Sr.

DB Kevin Payne, UL Monroe 6-1 212 Sr.

DB Russ Washington, Northwestern 5-9 190 Sr.

First-team specialists

K Blake Bercegeay, McNeese 6-2 178 So.

P Breck Ackley, Southern 5-10 165 Sr.

RS Steven Whitehead, McNeese 5-8 171 Jr.

Second-team offense

OL: Demetrius Bell, Northwestern St.; Andre Bennett, Grambling; Kyle Cunningham, UL-Monroe; Donald Madlock, Tulane; Donald Usry, Southeastern La.; RB: Matt Forte, Tulane; Patrick Jackson, Louisiana Tech. WR: Clyde Edwards, Grambling State; Steven Whitehead, McNeese State; TE: Brian Washington, Southern; QB: Lester Ricard, Tulane.

Second-team defense

DL: Rodney Hardeway, UL; Kirby Joseph, McNeese St; Chase Pittman, LSU; Ed Queen, Northwestern State. LB: Barry Beckwith, LSU; Trey Bennett, McNeese State; Joe Goosby, Tulane. DB: Michael Adams, UL; Jesse Daniels, LSU; Jarmaul George, Southern; Israel Route, Tulane; Josh Thompson, UL-Monroe.

Second-team specialists

K: Drew Edmiston, UL; P: Chris Beckman, Tulane; RS: Patrick Jackson, La. Tech.