home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Football: 2008 Rimington Fall Watch List

Courtesy: RaginCajuns.com           Release: 08/21/2008


NEW YORK – The Rimington Trophy committee released its 2008 Fall Watch List and Louisiana center Chris Fisher continues to be a candidate.
Fisher was named to the Rimington Trophy 2008 Spring Watch List as released by the Rimington Trophy committee on May 7.

Fisher, a second team All-Sun Belt selection in 2007, was one of three Sun Belt centers named.  Florida International’s Brad Serini and Troy’s Danny Franks also appear on the list.

The fall watch list contains 43 players, one more than the spring list.



A native of Lafayette, Fisher was a Freshman All-American by The Sporting News in 2006.  He’s started a total of 20 games over his two seasons, helping the Cajuns running game amass 5,283 yards and 43 touchdowns during that span.
Last season, Fisher was a vital part of the Cajuns offensive line that paved the way for the Sun Belt’s first ever 3,000-yard rushing team (3,019).  The Cajuns 251.6 rushing yards per game ranked 7th nationally and first in the SBC by more than 500 yards.  The team averaged a Sun Belt-record 5.6 yards per carry en route to producing two 1,000-yard rushers.  In addition, the Cajuns ranked 19th in the NCAA in fewest sacks allowed.

Fisher has also made two appearances on the Sun Belt Conference Commissioner’s List for academics.

 Click on the link below to view the entire release:

About the Rimington Trophy

The nine-year old trophy is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Past recipients include Nebraska’s Dominic Raiola, Ohio State’s LeCharles Bentley, Miami’s Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech’s Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan’s David Baas and LSU’s Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota’s Greg Eslinger, West Virginia’s Dan Mozes, and Arkansas’ Jonathan Luigs. Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $1.3 million for the award’s benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $65 milllion for CF Research.

Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy is a fully accredited member of the National College Football Awards Association.