home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Cajuns Land Six On All-SBC Team; Jeffrey Named Coach Of The Year

NEW ORLEANS – The 64th-ranked Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns men’s tennis team had six representatives on the 2014 All-Sun Belt Men’s Tennis Teams, while head coach Mark Jeffrey was named the Coach of the Year in the conference, the league office announced on Thursday.

"The guys have worked extremely hard and continue to push and get better each and every day," Jeffrey said. "These awards are a combination of just concentrating and getting better one day at a time and the end result is a body of work that competes on a national stage."

Jeffrey earns the honor after guiding the Cajuns to the top seed in the SBC Championship this year and the best record at school in the last 20 years finishing the regular season 18-4.

Rick de Groot received first-team singles honors for the second straight season. de Groot is 11-7 on the year and has won seven of his last 10 matches.

The senior was also tabbed to the first team in doubles with teammate Jake Wynan. The duo is ranked 76th in the nation and carry an 11-3 record in the tournament. Wynan and de Groot received second-team honors a year ago.

Wynan, Hunter Johnson and Edgar Lopez were named to the second team in singles. Johnson leads the squad with a 14-0 record in singles.

The doubles team of Lopez and Damian Farinola also received second-team honors. The pair posted a 14-4 record this spring and have won nine of their last 10.

"I am proud as a coach to see the work that the guys have put in, and continue to want to put in." Jeffrey added. "I know the guys would be remiss without adding that our assistant coach Luc Godin has really helped the guys in the area of fitness and personal development. Luc deserves a share of the credit for the guys being able to achieve their results as well."

The top-seeded Ragin’ Cajuns await the winner of the first-round matchup between UT Arlington and Troy. Louisiana will play the winner in the semifinals on Saturday at 3 p.m. at the City Park Tennis Center.

Player of the Year

Daniel Leitner (South Alabama)

Coach of the Year
Mark Jeffrey (Louisiana)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles First Team
Jannis Koeke (Georgia State)
Rick de Groot (Louisiana)
Daniel Leitner (South Alabama)
Tuki Jacobs (South Alabama)
Carlos Arbiza (UT Arlington)
Gabriel Sciacca Dias (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles First Team
Robert Schulze/Sofiane Chevallier (Georgia State)
Rick de Groot/Jake Wynan (Louisiana)
Carlos Arbiza/Javier Perez (UT Arlington)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles Second Team
Hunter Johnson (Louisiana)
Edgar Lopez (Louisiana)
Jake Wynan (Louisiana)
Shayann Vaezzadeh (South Alabama)
Daniel Armengol (UT Arlington)
Daniel Bustamante (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles Second Team
Damian Farinola/Edgar Lopez (Louisiana)
Manuel Belda/Gerhard Gruindelingh (South Alabama)
Austin Robles/Daniel Armengol (UT Arlington)