home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Cajuns Hold Football Banquet

Quarterback Michael Desormeaux was named Cajuns Offensive MVP and team captain, as voted on by the players
View larger Courtesy: RaginCajuns.com
Quarterback Michael Desormeaux was named Cajuns Offensive MVP and team captain, as voted on by the players


Louisiana’s Ragin’ Cajuns held their annual post-season football banquet on Friday night at River Oaks Conference Center (800 Hugh Wallis Road) with emcee George Faust from KLFY TV-10.
The banquet was filled with awards, as head coach Rickey Bustle started by honoring the nine Cajuns on the 2007 All-Sun Belt team – DT Korey Raymond, LB Grant Fleming, QB Michael Desormeaux, LB Antwyne Zanders, OL Chris Fisher, K Drew Edmiston, DE Rodney Hardeway, RB Tyrell Fenroy and OL Jesse Newman.
Assistant head coach/offensive coordinator/offensive line coach Ron Hudson then presented the Champion Award to freshman offensive lineman Ian Burks.  The Champion Award is given to the offensive newcomer that meets specific goals that were set at the beginning of fall practice.  These goals were established to build the foundation for success of the Ragin’ Cajuns football program.  The list of goals for the award include physical and mental toughness, leadership though work ethic and putting the team ahead of individual honor.
Defensive coordinator Kevin Fouquier announced freshman linebacker Grant Fleming was the recipient of the Top Gun Award, given to the most productive newcomer on defense.  Whether it was individual drills, group work or scrimmage situations, the award winner must perform at a level envied by his teammates and respected by his coaches.  The individual must exemplify the play-making abilities that are trademarks for great defense.
Lamar Morgan was honored with the 3rd Annual Robert E. Trahan Special Achievement Award.  The award is given to an individual, through the help of his teammates for special achievement during the 2007 season.  Morgan overcame hip surgery prior to the season to be a crucial part of the Cajuns defense last season.
Former Cajuns defensive end Chris Gannon presented Zanders and senior tight end Keith Talamo with the Grid Iron Alumni Award.
The MVP awards, as voted by the players, went to Desormeaux on offense, Hardeway on defense and Zanders on special teams.
The player-voted team captains were Desormeaux and Fenroy on offense, Hardeway and Morgan on defense and Zanders on special teams.
The banquet came to an end with the farewell recognition of the 2007 seniors.
 For information on becoming a season ticket holder, contact the Cajundome ticket office at 337-265-2100.