home sitesearch contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Brignac Runner-Up for Gatorade Award

Brignac Runner-Up for Gatorade Award

Brignac Runner-Up for Gatorade Award

Ashley Brignac with Coach Lotief and N.O. Hornets Chris Paul
Brignac Runner-Up for Gatorade Award
 Ashley Brignac with Coach Lotief and N.O. Hornets Chris Paul
Softball  07/11/2007 Courtesy RaginCajuns.com

HOLLYWOOD – Louisiana’s Ragin’ Cajuns softball incoming freshman Ashley Brignac (River Ridge, La.) finished as runner-up to Maya Moore (Suwanee, Ga. – Univ. of Connecticut) in one of the closest votes in the history of the Gatorade High School Female Athlete of the Year Award.

New Orleans Hornets guard Chris Paul and Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie presented the female award.  New Jersey Nets guard Vince Carter and Greg Oden – the 2006 Gatorade Award winner and first pick in the most recent NBA Draft – presented the male award.

View Photo Gallery

ESPN anchor Stuart Scott served as the master of ceremonies for the event, held at the Renaissance Hotel in the heart of Hollywood.

Brignac qualified for the award after being named 2006-07 Gatorade National Softball Player of the Year.

As a senior at John Curtis Christian, Brignac recorded a flawless 0.00 earned run average for the second consecutive season and led the Patriots to their fifth straight state championship. She recorded 21 shutouts, 21 no-hitters and seven perfect games in the circle en route to a 25-0 record. Brignac struck out 421 batters, allowing only 14 hits and 13 walks in 159.2 innings.

She was equally dominating offensively, hitting. 500 with six home runs with a .869 slugging percentage. She was also the staff ace on the USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team that won the 2006 Pan Am Championship with a 10-0 record.

She finished her high school career with a very impressive 122-4 record in the circle, striking out 1,454 of 2,037 batters she faced. Brignac was a three-time Louisiana Softball Coaches Association Class 2A Player of the Year, three-time All-District and All-Metro selection, two-time All-District and All-Metro MVP, two-time Gatorade Louisiana Softball Player of the Year, two-time Louisiana Sports Writers Association Farm-Bureau-Miss Softball selection and two-time National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-American.

Previous Gatorade National Athletes of the Year Award Winners
2003 – LeBron James (Male / Basketball) and Allyson Felix (Female / Track & Field)
2004 – Dwight Howard (Male / Basketball) and Candace Parker (Female / Basketball)
2005 – Greg Paulus (Male / Football) and Cynthia Barboza (Female / Volleyball)
2006 – Greg Oden (Male / Basketball) and Tina Charles (Female / Basketball)
2007 – Kevin Love (Male / Basketball ) and Maya Moore (Female / Basketball