home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Baseball: Trahan And Baranik Remain on Wallace Award/Pitcher of the Year Watch Lists

LUBBOCK, Texas – Junior Carson Baranik and sophomore Blake Trahan were honored by the Collegiate Baseball Hall of Fame this week as the pair remained on the latest Pitcher of the Year and Brooks Wallace Award watch lists.




Baranik was one of the 18 players remaining on the Pitcher of the Year watch list, while Trahan was one of the 16 players left on the Brooks Wallace Award watch list.




“It’s an honor and a privilege to have one of your players considered among the best at their position,” head coach Tony Robichaux said. “This is both an honor for them individually and for our program. Both Blake and Carson have worked hard to get to this point and have played a part in our success this season. They will tell you that they couldn’t have gotten to this point without the other guys on the team.”




Baranik leads the Sun Belt with a 10-1 record and has a 3.30 ERA in 92.2 innings. The right-hander has a team-best 69 strikeouts and two complete-game shutouts. Opponents are hitting just .233 against Baranik.




Trahan is hitting .332 on the season seeing action in all 58 games thus far. The Kinder, La., native has driven in 38 runs on 74 hits including 11 doubles and three home runs. The sophomore shortstop has only nine errors in over 250 attempts this season.




The Brooks Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation’s top shortstop and will be presented during the National College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions along with the Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond, on June 28 in Lubbock, Texas.




For more information on the Brooks Wallace Award, the Pitcher of the Year Award or the National College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions, visit www.collegebaseballhall.org.






Name                        School                       Conference


Blake Schmit            Maryland                    ACC


Michael Russell        North Carolina            ACC


Trea Turner              North Carolina State   ACC


Pat Sweeney            Rutgers                       American Athletic


Michael Massi          Mercer                        Atlantic Sun


D.J. Ruhlman            Seton Hall                  Big East


Dalton Britt               Liberty                        Big South


Peter Van Gansen    Cal Poly                     Big West


Tyler Wampler          Indiana State             Missouri Valley


Sam Haggerty           New Mexico               Mountain West


Dylan Bosheers         Tennessee Tech        Ohio Valley


Mikey White              Alabama                    SEC


Alex Bregman           LSU                            SEC


Vince Conde            Vanderbilt                  SEC


Blake Trahan            Louisiana                   Sun Belt


Kyle Holder               San Diego                  West Coast






NAME                       TEAM                         CONFERENCE


Nick Howard              Virginia                      ACC


Nathan Kirby             Virginia                      ACC


Michael Murray        Florida Gulf Coast      Atlantic Sun


Brendan McCurry      Oklahoma State         Big 12


Josh Prevost              Seton Hall                  Big East


Casey Bloomquist     Cal Poly                     Big West


Sam Moore               UC Irvine                    Big West


Andrew Morales        UC Irvine                    Big West


Mike Franco              Florida International   Conference USA


Blake Fox                  Rice                           Conference USA


Kyle Freeland           Evansville                   Missouri Valley


Jace Fry                    Oregon State              Pac-12


Ben Wetzler              Oregon State              Pac-12


Tyler Davis                Washington                Pac-12


Aaron Nola               LSU                            SEC


Carson Baranik          Louisiana                   Sun Belt


Sam Street               UT-Pan American      WAC


Aaron Brown             Pepperdine                West Coast




— Ragin’ Cajuns —




Jeff Schneider
Assistant Sports Information Director
University of Louisiana

Cox Communications Athletics Center 
201 Reinhardt Drive 
Lafayette, LA   70506 

Office: (337) 482-6332 
Cell: (225) 241-8430