home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Baseball: Moody Named First Team All-Louisiana

View larger Courtesy: RaginCajuns.com


BATON ROUGE – Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns senior Hunter Moody’s list of awards for the 2008 season concluded when he was named to the All-Louisiana Baseball First Team as chosen by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Earlier this month, the Clinton, La. native was named to the ABCA/Rawlings South Central All-Region First Team, marking the second career ABCA South Central All-Region honor for the southpaw. Moody, a draft pick of the Toronto Blue Jays in this year’s MLB Draft, finish his stellar four-year career as a first team All-Sun Belt selection thanks to a 9-2 record with a 3.26 ERA. He finished as the school’s winningest pitcher with a 31-7 all-time record, compiling an impressive .816 winning percentage. Moody also leaves as one of only four pitchers in Sun Belt Conference history to win 30 games and finishes his illustrious career ranked in the top five of four major pitching categories – wins, strikeouts, innings pitched and games started.

Moody, the only Cajun representative on the All-Louisiana team, was one of seven Sun Belt Conference student-athletes on the first team, joining Bryan Cryer (UNO), Josh Vander Hey (UNO), Kyle Suire (ULM), Ben Soignier (ULM), Joey Butler (UNO) and Dexter Fontenot (ULM).

2008 All-Louisiana College Baseball Team
First Team
P Bryan Cryer, New Orleans
P Jared Bradford, LSU
P Shooter Hunter, Tulane
P Hunter Moody, Louisiana
C Josh Vander Hey, UNO
1B Matt Clark, LSU
2B Kyle Suire, ULM
SS Ben Soignier, ULM
3B Josh Borges, Loyola
OF Joey Butler, UNO
OF Dexter Fontenot, ULM
OF Anthony Scelfo, Tulane
DH Blake Dean, LSU
UT Jericho Jones, Louisiana Tech

Hitter of the Year: Blake Dean, LSU
Pitcher of the Year: Bryan Cryer, UNO
Freshman of the Year: DJ LeMahieu, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Matt Clark, LSU
Coach of the Year: Paul Mainieri, LSU

Second Team
P Louis Coleman, LSU
P Victor Hernandez, LSU-Shreveport
P Wade Miley, Southeastern Louisiana
P Ryan Verdugo, LSU
C Taylor Freeman, McNeese
1B Mike Jaworski, Northwestern State
2B Johnny Giavotella, UNO
SS Ty Summerlin, Southeastern Louisiana
3B T.J. Baxter, UNO
OF Torey Brown, Southern
OF Jared Mitchell, LSU
OF Brent Smith, Grambling
DH Jeff Ledet, LSU-Shreveport
UT Jeff Lanning, UNO

Honorable Mention
P Matt Petiton, Tulane; C Andrew Brouillette, LSU-Shreveport; Micah Gibbs, LSU; Anthony Jones, Northwestern State; 1B Nick Schwaner, UNO; SS DJ LeMahieu, LSU; 3B Rob Segedin, Tulane; OF Adam Cobb, Louisiana Tech; Leon Landry, LSU