home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Baseball: Baranik Named Sun Belt Pitcher of the Week – List of POW in SBC since 1992

NEW ORLEANS, La. – Junior pitcher Carson Baranik was named the Sun Belt Conference Pitcher of the Week after his performance against Eastern Illinois in the Ragin’ Cajuns baseball series win against the Panthers, the conference office announced on Monday.




“This is a great individual honor that the conference gives out,” head coach Tony Robichaux said. “Carson put in a lot of hard work and effort to get to this point. I think it’s well deserved. He went out and threw a great game for us, especially with out a lot of run production.




“He really backed our hitters up. That really epitomizes what we are looking for out of our pitching staff when we take the field. We don’t care about runs. We are looking to give our team a chance to win, and I thought he did a great job of that. He’s part of a very good pitching staff that we have this year.”




Baranik was lights out in his debut for the Ragin’ Cajuns holding EIU scoreless in 7.1 innings while limiting the Panthers to just one hit. The Bossier City, La. native also struck out eight hitters in the outing earning his first win in a 1-0 contest.




Louisiana has had at least one pitcher earn the weekly award in each of the last seven years, while Baranik is the 24th player to don the Vermillion and White to earn the honor.




The Cajuns return to action on Wednesday at 6 p.m. when they face Northwestern State on the road at Brown-Stroud Field in Natchitoches, La. before heading to Southern Miss this weekend for a three-game series.




For more information and a behind the scenes look at Louisiana baseball, follow the team on twitter @CajunsBaseball.






2014: Carson Baranik (2/17)


2013: Austin Robichaux (4/15)


2012: Jordan Nicholson (3/19); Jordan Harrison (4/9); Austin Robichaux (5/14)


2011: Taylor Hubbell (3/1); Jordan Nicholson (5/9)


2010: Zach Osborne (3/22); Zach Osborne (4/12)


2009: Zach Osborne (4/6); Zach Osborne (4/27)


2008: Hunter Moody (2/26); Hunter Moody (3/2); Hunter Moody (3/24)


2006: Hunter Moody (2/23); Hunter Moody (3/14); Jason Fernandez (4/3); Buddy Glass (4/10); Jason Fernandez (4/17); Danny Farquhar (5/8)


2005: Kevin Ardoin (2/14); Kevin Ardoin (4/18)


2004: Kevin Ardoin (3/2); Kevin Ardoin (4/12)


2003: Kevin Ardoin (4/14); Jordy Templet (4/21); Andy Gros (5/5)


2002: Justin Gabriel (4/1); Andy Gros (4/22); Kraig Schambough (5/6)


2001: Eric Templet (4/16)


2000: Scott Dohmann (3/13); Eric Templet (5/1)


1999: Phil Devey (3/8); Alan Ochsner (4/12); Scott Dohmann (5/3)


1998: Phil Devey (3/9)


1997: Chad Bailey (3/24); Trey Poland (4/21)


1996: Chad Bailey (4/15)


1995: Jason Sheppard (3/27)


1992: Javi DeJesus (3/30); Scott Fishback (4/20); Javi DeJesus (5/11)






— Ragin’ Cajuns —




Jeff Schneider
Assistant Sports Information Director
University of Louisiana

Cox Communications Athletics Center
201 Reinhardt Drive
Lafayette, LA   70506

Office: (337) 482-6332
Cell: (225) 241-8430