home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Captains Network
Friends of the AN
History of UL Athletics
Photo Gallery
University Links
Site Dedication
Athletic Department
Community Links

AN News

Archived News

Back to Articles

Women's Tennis: Picaut, Mantaux Earn Sun Belt All-Conference Honor


Floriane Picat                                                                                    Clara Mantaux

 - Women's Tennis' Floriane Picaut and Clara Mantaux have been named to the All-Sun Belt Conference Second Team for Doubles, while Picaut also earned a spot on the All-Sun Belt Conference Second Team for Singles, the league announced on Wednesday afternoon. 

Picaut posted a 5-3 record at No. 1 singles this season, with seven of her matches going unfinished.

Two of Picaut's singles wins came against ULM, helping the Ragin' Cajuns beat the Warhawks for the first time since 2009 and sealing a season sweep against the in-state foe. 

The final-year player carried leads into the final set against Texas State's and Arkansas State's No. 1 singles player before the overall match concluded. Picaut compiled 31 singles victories in her career, 17 of which came at No. 1 singles.

Picaut and Mantaux were a terrific No. 1 doubles pair this year, posting an overall 8-2 record. The two claimed five Sun Belt wins, an impressive win against Houston and beat two No. 1 doubles pairs from in-state schools. 

The two posted the third-highest winning percentage among doubles pairs in the conference and recently beat Coastal Carolina's No. 1 doubles pair to start the Sun Belt Tournament.

Individual Awards - 
Coach of the Year - Sean McCaffrey, Georgia Southern
Player of the Year - Yu Fujioka, South Alabama (Sr. Funabashi, Japan)
Player to Watch - Carla Pons, UT Arlington (Jr. Valencia, Spain)
Newcomer of the Year - Hana Kvapilova, Texas State (Sr. Usti nad Orlici, The Czech Republic)
Freshman of the Year - Otoha Aoki, South Alabama (Fr. Komaki, Japan)

 All-Conference First Team Singles
Yu Fujioka, South Alabama (Sr. Funabashi, Japan)
Hana Kvapilova, Texas State (Sr. Usti nad Orlici, The Czech Republic)
Somer Dalla-Bona, Coastal Carolina (Sr. Bokarina, Australia)
Nadja Meier, Georgia Southern (So. Potsdam, Germany)
Momoka Horiguchi, UT Arlington (Jr. Osaka, Japan)
Nikola Kohoutova, South Alabama (Sr. Kralupy nad Vltavou, Czech Republic)

All-Conference First Team Doubles
Charlotte Van Diemen (Sr. Berkel and Rodenrijs, Netherlands) and Sophie Wagemaker (Fr. Zuid-Scharwoude, Netherlands), Georgia Southern
María José Zacarias (Fr. San Luis Potosi, Mexico) and Ksenia Aleshina (Fr. Moscow Russia), App State
Otoha Aoki (Fr. Komaki, Japan) and Aina Domingo-Bernabeu (Fr. Barcelona, Spain), South Alabama

All-Conference Second Team Singles
Otoha Aoki, South Alabama (Fr. Komaki, Japan)
Carla Pons, UT Arlington (Jr. Valencia Spain)
Victoire De Samucewicz, Coastal Carolina (So. Paris, France)
Matea Mihaljevic, Troy (Sr. Osijek, Croatia)
Floriane Picaut, Louisiana (Jr. Verrieres le Buisson, France)
Andreea Stanescu, Georgia State (Jr. Bucharest, Romania)

All-Conference Second Team Doubles
Somer Dalla-Bona (Sr. Bokarina, Australia) and Jessie Mount (Sr. Melbourne, Australia), Coastal Carolina
Nikola Kohoutova (Sr. Kralupy nad Vltavou, Czech Republic) and Yu Fujioka (Sr. Funabashi, Japan) South Alabama
Floriane Picaut (Sr. Verrieres le Buisson France) and Clara Mantaux (Sr. Montbeliard, France), Louisiana