home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Captains Network
Friends of the AN
History of UL Athletics
Photo Gallery
University Links
Site Dedication
Athletic Department
Community Links

AN News

Archived News

Back to Articles

Football: Deuce Wallace Named a Burlsworth Trophy Nominee

Wallace is one of 83 players from around the country nominated for the award

LAFAYETTE – Senior defensive back Deuce Wallace has picked up another nomination for a national award after he was named a Burlsworth Trophy nominee, the The Brandon Burlsworth Foundation announced on Tuesday.
Wallace has already received national recognition for his performance on the field and in the community this year, having been nominated for the prestigious Wuerffel Trophy two weeks ago.
The Lafayette, La., native began his Ragin' Cajuns career without receiving a single scholarship offer out of high school. He went on to earn a scholarship following the 2018 Vermilion and White Spring Finale.
During the 2019 season, Wallace has appeared in all eight of Louisiana's games, making three starts. He has recorded 10 tackles on the year, one of which was for a one-yard loss.
The Burlsworth Trophy is given to the most outstanding football player in America who began his career as a Walk-On and has shown outstanding performance on the field. Each nominee must have begun his first season of participation with FBS (D1) football program without financial aid of any kind from his university's athletic department.
Wallace and the Ragin' Cajuns return to action on Thursday, Nov. 7, when they trek to Conway, S.C., for a midweek clash with Coastal Carolina. Kickoff from Brooks Stadium is slated for 6:30 p.m. (CST) and will be broadcast nationally on ESPNU.
Single-game tickets for Louisiana's remaining 2019 home games are on sale now from the Louisiana Athletics Ticket Office at the Cajundome. More information can be obtained by calling (337) 265-2170, or by visiting the office in-person. For information on parking passes, contact RCAF by phone at (337) 851-2903.

2019 Burlsworth Trophy Nominees 
Appalachian StateNoel CookSROL
Arizona StateCristian ZendejasSophPK
ArkansasConnor LimpertSRK
Arkansas StateBlake GrupeSophK
AuburnWill HastingsSRWR
Ball StateRiley MillerSRWR
Bowling Green StateDavid KonowalskiSRDE
Brigham YoungBracken El-BakriJRDL
BuffaloChibueze OnwukaJRDT
CaliforniaAshtyn DavisSRS/KR
CharlotteAlex HighsmithSRDE
ClemsonPatrick PhibbsSRLS
Coastal CarolinaChandler KrystSRCB
Colorado  J.T. BaleSRLS
Colorado StateBarry WesleySophOL
East CarolinaTyler SneadFreshWR
Eastern MichiganHassan BeydounSophWR
Florida AtlanticDante CousartSRWR/PR
Florida StateTommy MartinSophP
Fresno StateMatt SmithJROL
GeorgiaRodrigo BlankenshipSRPK
Georgia StateRemy LazarusSRS
Georgia TechWilliam LaySophOL
HawaiiKaimana PadelloSRDL
IndianaLogan JustusSRK
Iowa  Brady RossSRFB
Iowa StateCollin OlsonSROL/C
Kansas StateDalton SchoenSRWR
Kent StateMatt BahrSRLB
KentuckyBlake BestSRLS
Louisiana   Deuce WallaceSRDB
Louisiana TechCee Jay PowellJRWR
LouisvilleTyler HaycraftSROT
MarshallTyler BrownSRLB
MassachusettsKyle HornSRTE
MemphisJoey MagnificoSRTE
MiamiJimmy MurphySRRB
MichiganJordan GlasgowSRLB
Michigan StateKenny WillekesSRDE
MinnesotaSam RennerSRDL
Mississippi  Mac BrownJRP
Mississippi StateKody SchexnayderSRH/P
MissouriDawson DowningJRRB
NC StateThayer Rockne ThomasSophWR
NebraskaChase UrbachSRLS
NevadaQuinton ConawaySRP
New Mexico  Andrew ShelleySophK
New Mexico StateAustin PerkinsSRDB
North TexasMichael LawrenceSRWR
Northern IllinoisJack HeflinJRDT
NorthwesternChris BerginJRLB
Notre DameChris FinkeSRWR
Ohio StateCJ SaundersSRWR
Oklahoma StateMatt AmmendolaSRK
Old DominionDemetrius StitmonJRLB
Oregon StateDaniel RodriguezSRP
Penn StateJan JohnsonSRLB
PittsburghJimmy MorrisseyJROC
RiceChris BarnesSRPK
RutgersCole MurphySRWR/H
San Diego StateJesse MatthewsFreshWR
San Jose StateJosh LoveSRQB
SMUGerrit ChoateJRDE
South CarolinaParker WhiteJRPK
USCChase McGrathSophPK
StanfordRyan BeecherSRILB
SyracuseAndre SzmytSophK
TempleZack MesdaySRDE
Texas A & MBraden WhiteJRLB
ToledoReggie GilliamSRTE
TroyCarlton MartialSophLB
TulaneMerek GloverJRK
UCLAJoshua KelleySRRB
UtahPaul ToalaSROL
Utah StateDominik EberleSRPK
VirginiaBrenton NelsonJRS
Wake ForestJack FreudenthalSRTE
WashingtonMyles BryantSRDB
Washington StateBrandon ArconadaSRWR
West VirginiaDante BonamicoJRS
Western KentuckyTa'Corian DardenSRNB
WisconsinMatt HenningsenSophDE
WyomingJosiah HallSRDE