home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Captains Network
Friends of the AN
History of UL Athletics
Photo Gallery
University Links
Site Dedication
Athletic Department
Community Links

AN News

Archived News

Back to Articles

Track & Field: Burger, Ware Headline Cajuns On All-Sun Belt Conference Team

Matt Sullivan, Associate Director of Athletics Communications

Thirteen Ragin' Cajuns earn All-SBC honors at outdoor championships

Story Links

NEW ORLEANS – The freshman tandem of Obdarius Ware and Hannes Burger claimed individual awards for the Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns track and field team on Friday as the Sun Belt Conference released its 2019 outdoor track and field specialty awards and all-conference teams, as voted on by the league's head coaches.
Ware, who claimed the long jump title with the second-best mark in school history (25-4¾), was selected as the league's Men's Freshman of the Year while Burger, the men's 3,000-meter steeplechase champion (8:56.99), tabbed as the Sun Belt Conference Men's Newcomer of the Year.
Both were among a group of 13 Ragin' Cajuns named to the all-conference team after their respective performances at last week's Sun Belt Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships.
Ware, Burger and Kimmie Rushford (women's pole vault) were each honored as first-team All-SBC selections for Louisiana with Frankie Griffin (women's high jump), Sean Bouzigard (men's javelin), Richard Delphin (men's hammer throw) and Shaquille Singuineau (men's shot put) each named to the second team.
Six Ragin' Cajuns athletes – Alexa Johnson (women's pole vault), Claire Meyers (women's javelin), Juliette Smith (women's heptathlon), Kyle Baudoin (men's pole vault), Tyler Hughes (men's 110-meter hurdles) and Chandler Mixon (men's decathlon) – were all named to the third-team.
Follow the Ragin' Cajuns on Twitter (@RaginCajunsTRK), Facebook (Ragin' Cajuns TRK) or Instagram (@RaginCajunsTRK) to stay up-to-date on all that is happening with Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns Track and Field/Cross Country.

Men's Most Outstanding Track Performer - Justin Domangue, UTA
Men's Most Outstanding Field Performer - T'Mond Johnson, Texas State
Men's Newcomer of the Year - Hannes Burger, Louisiana
Men's Freshman of the Year - Obdarius Ware, Louisiana
Men's Outdoor Track and Field Coach of the Year - Jody Stewart, Texas State

Women's Most Outstanding Track Performer - Tramesha Hardy, Texas State
Women's Most Outstanding Field Performer - Autavia Fluker, South Alabama
Women's Newcomer of the Year - Merabu Nagwandala, Georgia Southern
Women's Freshman of the Year - Vanessa Ugorji, UTA
Women's Outdoor Track and Field Coach of the Year - Jim Patchell, Arkansas State
View image on TwitterView image on Twitter