home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
home
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Sponsors
Captains Network
Friends of the AN
History of UL Athletics
Photo Gallery
University Links
Site Dedication
Athletic Department
Community Links



AN News

Archived News

Back to Articles

Football: Both Sides Step Up As Ragin' Cajuns Hold First Scrimmage

LAFAYETTE – The Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns football team wrapped up its first week of fall camp on Saturday morning, holding a 60-play situational scrimmage at the Ragin' Cajuns Practice Facility.
 
Members on both sides of the ball stood out during the hot, humid workout as the Ragin' Cajuns went through a series of four-play drives, plus third-down and goal-line situations. Jordan Davis and Dion Ray each engineered scoring drives for the offense with Ryheem Malone and Keenan Barnes each catching TD passes.
 
"We wanted to just get our feet wet a little bit and see some guys in some live action and tackle for the first time," head coach Mark Hudspeth said. "We did some good things, but I thought the speed of the game showed up for some of the young guys. Overall, both sides of the ball, at times, did some good things.
 
"We did create a couple of turnovers defensively, and that was great to see because that has been a point of emphasis that they have been working on. Offensively, we were able to convert some third-and-long situations and we had great competition in the goal-line scrimmage. Both sides did some pretty good things there."
 
Defensive, Corey Turner and Joe Dillon each picked off passes in the early portion of the scrimmage with Darryl Johnson and Mustafa Mitchell each recording sacks with freshman Ken Jones, Mitchell and Simeon Thomas each posting tackles behind the line.
 
The Ragin' Cajuns will be off on Sunday before returning to practice on Monday at 9:15 a.m. All practices and scrimmages are open to RCAF and Quarterback Club members at the $1,000 level or above.
 
Louisiana will officially open its 2017 season on Sept. 2 against Southeastern Louisiana at Cajun Field. The Ragin' Cajuns will also play host to Sun Belt Conference opponents ULM (Sept. 23), Texas State (Oct. 12), New Mexico State (Nov. 18) and Georgia Southern (Nov. 25).
 
Season tickets are available by calling the Cajundome Ticket Office at (337) 265-2357 or on-line at RaginCajuns.com/tickets.
 
Fans can follow the Cajuns during fall camp on RaginCajuns.com, on Twitter at @ULRaginCajuns and @RaginCajunsFB and on SnapChat at Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns.
 
2017 LOUISIANA RAGIN' CAJUNS FOOTBALL PRACTICE SCHEDULE
Sunday, Aug. 6 – OFF
Monday, Aug. 7 – 9:15 a.m. (Shorts/Pads)
Tuesday, Aug. 8 – 9:15 a.m. (Full pads)
Wednesday, Aug. 9 – 9:15 a.m. (Cajun Gear)
Thursday, Aug. 10 – 9:15 a.m. (Full pads)
Friday, Aug. 11 – 9:15 a.m. (Helmets)
Saturday, Aug. 12 – 5:30 p.m. (Scrimmage)
Sunday, Aug. 13 – OFF
Monday, Aug. 14 – 3:25 p.m. (Shorts/Pads)
Tuesday, Aug. 15 – 9:25 a.m. (Full pads)
Wednesday, Aug. 16 – 9:15 a.m. (Cajun Gear)
Thursday, Aug. 17 – 9:15 a.m. (Full pads)
Friday, Aug. 18 – 9:15 a.m. (Helmets)
Saturday, Aug. 19 – 10:25 a.m. (Scrimmage)
Sunday, Aug. 20 – OFF
Monday, Aug. 21 – OFF
Tuesday, Aug. 22 – 3:25 p.m. (Full pads)
Wednesday, Aug. 23 – 3:05 p.m. (Cajun Gear)
Thursday, Aug. 24 – 3:05 p.m. (Shorts/Pads)
Friday, Aug. 25 – 5:50 p.m. (Helmets)
 



Coburns