home sitesearch sitemap contact fan about
  Submit/Update Profile  

Search the Network:

Baseball: Three Cajuns Named to Sun Belt Baseball All-Tournament Team Sunday

No. 5 Western Kentucky prevailed over No. 2 New Orleans in the SBC Baseball Championship Game, 17-5
LAFAYETTE – Three members of the Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns baseball team were named to the Sun Belt Conference’s All-Tournament Team Sunday following the championship game. Hunter Moody (Clinton, La.), Brent Solich (Lakewood Ranch, Fla.) and Scott Hawkins (Collierville, Tenn.) each took home All-Tournament honors for their individual performances this past week.
In what amounted to his final home game on the mound as a Cajun, Moody tossed his first complete game of the season en route to a 6-1 victory Wednesday over Troy. Moody (9-2) moved into third place on the Sun Belt career victories list with his 31st win on the hill. The crafty lefty finished his successful collegiate career as the winningest pitcher in UL history.
On Friday, Solich cemented his second straight All-Tournament team nod after tossing the finest performance by a Cajun pitcher in 2008. Solich bested last season’s 11-strikeout total with a career-high 12 Ks in an 8-1 complete-game victory over South Alabama. Solich held the Jaguars to one run on four hits in this season’s tournament, while holding USA to one run on seven hits in 18 tournament innings. Moody and Solich became the first Cajuns to toss back-to-back complete-game performances since Moody and Buddy Glass did it against Western Kentucky in 2006.
Hawkins finished the tournament 7-for-17 (.412) with four RBI after going 7-for-10 in the first two games. The junior designated hitter concluded 2008 as the Cajuns’ team leader in average (.306), hits (64), doubles (14), home runs (11) and RBI (40).
2008 Sun Belt Conference Baseball All-Tournament Team
Ben Soignier (ULM, Jr., SS)
Alex Silversmith (Florida Atlantic, Sr., C)
Will Block (Florida Atlantic, Jr., 2B)
Chris Eberhart (Florida Atlantic, Sr., P)
Hunter Moody (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., P)
Brent Solich (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., P)
Scott Hawkins (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., DH)
Bryan Cryer (New Orleans, Sr., P)
Josh Vander Hey (New Orleans, Sr., C)
Nick Schwaner (New Orleans, So., 1B)
Chad Cregar (WKU, Jr., DH)
Matt Ridings (WKU, So., P)
Wade Gaynor (WKU, So., 3B)
Tournament MVP: Jake Wells (WKU, So., 1B)

Take Care,

Chris Yandle
Assistant Sports Information Director
Volleyball/Men’s Basketball/Baseball Contact
Louisiana’s Ragin’ Cajuns
Office: (337) 482-6330 | Cell: (337) 298-2099 | Fax: (337) 482-6529
yandle@louisiana.edu | www.RaginCajuns.com